COVID-19 Updates from Public Health
COVID-19 Limited Operations, Procedures and Closures

All services are by appointment only at this time.

Todos los servicios son con cita previa en este momento.

See Details

Cultural Intelligence Committee

Vision Statement

Enrichment through Diversity

Mission Statement

Promoting a culturally diverse environment where all employees, residents, and visitors are valued and welcomed.


  • To increase awareness of social injustice and its effects
  • To improve fair and equal treatment for all
  • To enhance county’s reputation as welcoming to all
  • To equip and empower people to resolve social justice issues

In 2011 after evaluating the areas of strengths and needed growth, the Four C’s Initiative (Customer Service, Communication, Creativity and Culture) was born.  By establishing common goals and procedures, inclusive to all County entities, employees obtain additional tools to use when expediting County services to the community. 

Cultural Intelligence Committee

In May of 2013 the Human Resources Department provided all Ottawa County employees the opportunity to apply for consideration to become part of a Cultural Change Team (now known as the Cultural Intelligence Committee or CIC). This committee was formed to work towards providing cultural change input and direction, and promote communications with stakeholders along with internal departments. Another directive for this team is to focus on completing research and recommending cultural change best practices and initiatives.

History of the Cultural Intelligence Committee

  1. 2006
    Board of Commissioners shows an interest in the impact of cultural intelligence
  2. 2009
    Al Vanderberg joins the Lakeshore Ethnic Diversity Alliance Advisory Committee
  3. 2012
    Ottawa County forms the 4 C’s (Communication, Customer Service, Creativity and Cultural Intelligence) Initiative
  4. 2013
    Ottawa County forms the Cultural Intelligence Committee (CIC) as an internal committee
  5. 2018
    Board of Commissioners establish the creation of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Office
  6. 2019
    Board of Commissioners approve the staffing plan for the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Office
Read how the CIC operates »

The Cultural Intelligence Committee is comprised of the following members:

  • Sarah Allen - Human Resources Manager
  • Blair Davis - Sheriff’s Department
  • Abraham Gonzalez - Public Defenders Office
  • Jessica Irwin - Community Mental Health
  • Alicia Jett - District Court
  • Elizabeth Kennicott - Circuit Court
  • Judy Kettring - Public Health
  • David Macias - 20th Circuit Court
  • Glorie Orozco - Public Health
  • Emily Renkema - GIS
  • Sierra Schuetz - Community Mental Health
  • Cynthia Smeyers - Public Health
  • Jamie Talbot - Community Mental Health
  • Michael Tamminga - Sheriff’s Department
  • Lynelle Voght - Public Health
  • Anna White - Public Defenders Office
  • Cade Young - Sheriff’s Department