APPROVED

PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JANUARY SESSION – SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 25, 2022, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Pastor Marshall Holtvluwer pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk/Register led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

Present at roll call: Francisco Garcia, Joseph Baumann, Douglas Zylstra, Allen Dannenberg, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, James Holtvluwer, Gregory DeJong, Philip Kuyers, Roger Bergman, Matthew Fenske. (11)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

A. Introduction of Public Defender Nichole Jongsma Derks-John Shay introduced Nichole Jongsma Derks and then she spoke to the Board about some things going on in her office.

Public Comments

Public comments were made by the following:

- 1. Patrick Cisler-Lakeshore Non-Profit Alliance
- B/C 22-020 Allen Dannenberg moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Philip Kuyers, James Holtvluwer, Francisco Garcia, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, Douglas Zylstra, Kyle Terpstra, Randall Meppelink, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Matthew Fenske. (11)
- B/C 22-021 Allen Dannenberg moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
 - 1. To approve the Minutes of the January 11, 2022 Board of Commissioners meeting.
 - 2. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,129,291.91 as presented by the summary report for December 27, 2021 January 7, 2022.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Francisco Garcia, Roger Bergman, Douglas Zylstra, Allen Dannenberg, Kyle Terpstra, Randall Meppelink, James Holtvluwer, Joseph Baumann, Philip Kuyers, Gregory DeJong, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-022

Allen Dannenberg moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the letter of support authorizing West Michigan Sustainability Business Forum to apply for the Michigan Materials Management County Engagement grant with Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (ELGE), on behalf of Ottawa County.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Allen Dannenberg, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, Francisco Garcia, Gregory DeJong, James Holtvluwer, Douglas Zylstra, Philip Kuyers, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-023

Gregory DeJong moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the bid from Apex Contractors in the amount of \$967,262.50 and enter into a contract for construction of the Grand Ravines to Grand River Park Segment of the Idema Explorers Trail.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Philip Kuyers, James Holtvluwer, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, Francisco Garcia, Douglas Zylstra, Roger Bergman, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, Joseph Baumann, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-024

Gregory DeJong moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the Management License Agreement between the Ottawa County Parks Commission and Mr. Dave Kulicamp (Manager) that will convey upon the Manager the rights to manage specific portions of the Eastmanville Farm property in a specific manner as outlined in the License Agreement and its attachments for a period of 10 years.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Roger Bergman, Douglas Zylstra, Philip Kuyers, Francisco Garcia, James Holtvluwer, Joseph Baumann, Gregory DeJong, Randall Meppelink, Allen Dannenberg, Kyle Terpstra, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-025

Gregory DeJong moved to approve the recommendation of the Parks and Recreation Commission to adjust Motor Vehicle Parking Fees to establish one daily motor vehicle fee of \$8.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Douglas Zylstra, Roger Bergman, Joseph Baumann, Philip Kuyers, Francisco Garcia, Randall Meppelink, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, James Holtvluwer, Kyle Terpstra, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-026

Gregory DeJong moved to approve naming the newly acquired area of Stearns Creek Park north of Stearns Creek as the Helstrom Family Natural Area, to name the proposed

trails as the Helstrom Family Trail System and to provide exclusive naming rights to any future trails and overlooks on this property.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Joseph Baumann, Francisco Garcia, Randall Meppelink, James Holtvluwer, Gregory DeJong, Douglas Zylstra, Kyle Terpstra, Philip Kuyers, Allen Dannenberg, Roger Bergman, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-027

Gregory DeJong moved to approve the proposed amendments to Section 400.5 of the County Operations Ordinance.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Kyle Terpstra, James Holtvluwer, Philip Kuyers, Gregory DeJong, Randall Meppelink, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Allen Dannenberg, Francisco Garcia, Matthew Fenske. (10)

Nays: Douglas Zylstra (1)

B/C 22-028

Gregory DeJong moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the Resolution Opposing Senate Bills 597 and 598.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Philip Kuyers, James Holtvluwer, Francisco Garcia, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, Randall Meppelink, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Matthew Fenske. (9)

Nays: Kyle Terpstra (1)

Present: Douglas Zylstra (1)

B/C 22-029

Gregory DeJong moved to approve the proposed 911 Service Plan for Ottawa County and to schedule a final public hearing at least 90 days after approval.

The hearing date is set for the Board meeting on May 10, 2022.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Francisco Garcia, Roger Bergman, Douglas Zylstra, Allen Dannenberg, Kyle Terpstra, Randall Meppelink, James Holtvluwer, Joseph Baumann, Philip Kuyers, Gregory DeJong, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-030

Joseph Baumann moved to approve the 2021 and 2022 budget adjustments per the attached schedule.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Allen Dannenberg, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, Francisco Garcia, Gregory DeJong, James Holtvluwer, Douglas Zylstra, Philip Kuyers, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-031

Joseph Baumann moved to approve the use of ARPA funds to pay approximately \$11 million in public safety payroll from March 3, 2021 to December 31, 2021.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Philip Kuyers, James Holtvluwer, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, Francisco Garcia, Douglas Zylstra, Roger Bergman, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, Joseph Baumann, Matthew Fenske. (11)

The County Administrator's report was presented.

A. 2021-2022 Business and Strategic Plan Update-John Shay gave a 1st quarter update to the Business and Strategic Plan. Those updates include staffing issues in Community Mental Health, Groundwater Monitoring, Farmland Preservation, Kiosks, and Chatbots.

Several Commissioners commented on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

Public Comments

- 1. Carey Korpi-Grand Haven City (zoom)
- 2. Harvey Nikkel-Jenison (zoom)
- 3. Ronnie Allen-Allendale (zoom)

Online Public Comment

1. Gordon Bernstein

Chair Fenske adjourned the meeting at 2:53 p.m.

JUSTIN F. ROEBUCK, Clerk/Register
Of the Board of Commissioners

MATTHEW R. FENSKE, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners