APPROVED

PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY SESSION – SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, May 24, 2022, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Pastor Marshall Holtvluwer, Covenant Life Church, pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk/Register led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

Present at roll call: Francisco Garcia, Joseph Baumann, Douglas Zylstra, Allen Dannenberg, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, James Holtvluwer, Gregory DeJong, Philip Kuyers, Roger Bergman, Matthew Fenske. (11)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

Clerk/Register's office-Justin Roebuck introduced Nicole Poel-Skofic and Aubrey Williams as the new Supervisors in their respective divisions of the Clerk/Register's office.

A. Sheriff's Awards-Sheriff Steve Kempker presented Alex DeJong, Erick Porter, Joseph Rohloff, Jason Quinn, and Nick Knott with the Sheriff's Accommodation Award.

Board Chair Comments

Chairman Fenske spoke on several topics, including, the Silent Memorial that took place last week for Sheriff's Office week, June 9 at 10am is the groundbreaking for the Family Justice Center, and thanked the Delta Dental Foundation for awarding the Miles of Smiles mobile dental program a \$13 million grant.

Public Comments

Public comments were made by the following:

- 1. Lori Grasman-Robinson Township
- 2. Brian Harrison-Rockford, works in Ottawa County
- 3. Harvey Nikkel-Jenison
- 4. David Barnosky-Port Sheldon Township

B/C 22-107 Roger Bergman moved to approve the agenda of today. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Philip Kuyers, James Holtvluwer, Francisco Garcia, Allen

Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, Douglas Zylstra, Kyle Terpstra, Randall Meppelink, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Matthew Fenske. (11)

- B/C 22-108 Allen Dannenberg moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions.
 - 1. To approve the minutes of the May 10, 2022, Board of Commissioners meeting.
 - 2. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$8,683,083.22 as presented by the summary report for May 2, 2022, to May 13, 2022.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Francisco Garcia, Roger Bergman, Douglas Zylstra, Allen Dannenberg, Kyle Terpstra, Randall Meppelink, James Holtvluwer, Joseph Baumann, Philip Kuyers, Gregory DeJong, Matthew Fenske. (11)

Action Items

B/C 22-109 Gregory DeJong moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the Resolution of Support for the Lower Grand River Water Trail.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Allen Dannenberg, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, Francisco Garcia, Gregory DeJong, James Holtvluwer, Douglas Zylstra, Philip Kuyers, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-110 Gregory DeJong moved to approve the proposed updates to the bylaws of the Ottawa County Community Action Agency Advisory Board.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Philip Kuyers, James Holtvluwer, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, Francisco Garcia, Douglas Zylstra, Roger Bergman, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, Joseph Baumann, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-111 Gregory DeJong moved to approve the revised Social Media Policy for review and comment.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Roger Bergman, Philip Kuyers, Francisco Garcia, James Holtvluwer, Joseph Baumann, Gregory DeJong, Randall Meppelink, Allen Dannenberg, Matthew Fenske. (9)

Nays: Douglas Zylstra and Kyle Terpstra (2)

B/C 22-112 Gregory DeJong moved to approve the revised Information Security Policy for review and comment.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Douglas Zylstra, Roger Bergman, Joseph Baumann, Philip Kuyers, Francisco Garcia, Randall Meppelink, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, James Holtvluwer, Kyle Terpstra, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-113 Joseph Baumann moved to approve the proposal to add two, 1.0 FTE full-time, benefited Mental Health Clinician positions at paygrade 10 and one 1.0 FTE full-time, benefited Justice Program Clerk position at paygrade 2 at a total cost of \$300,787 paid for with CCBHC grant funds.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Joseph Baumann, Francisco Garcia, Randall Meppelink, James Holtvluwer, Gregory DeJong, Douglas Zylstra, Kyle Terpstra, Philip Kuyers, Allen Dannenberg, Roger Bergman, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-114 Joseph Baumann moved to approve the proposal to add one 1.0 FTE Paralegal position at paygrade 9 at a total cost of \$95,933.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Kyle Terpstra, James Holtvluwer, Douglas Zylstra, Philip Kuyers, Gregory DeJong, Randall Meppelink, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Allen Dannenberg, Francisco Garcia, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-115 Joseph Baumann moved to approve the request from Public Health to upgrade one 1.0 Health Technician to a 1.0 FTE Medical Assistant position at a cost of \$4,399 per year paid for with Title X and MDHHS funding.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Philip Kuyers, James Holtvluwer, Francisco Garcia, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, Douglas Zylstra, Kyle Terpstra, Randall Meppelink, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-116 Joseph Baumann moved to receive the Local Government Retirement System Annual Report as required by Public Act 202 of 2017.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Francisco Garcia, Roger Bergman, Douglas Zylstra, Allen Dannenberg, Kyle Terpstra, Randall Meppelink, James Holtvluwer, Joseph Baumann, Philip Kuyers, Gregory DeJong, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-117 Joseph Baumann moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the Resolution for the FY2023 Michigan Department of Corrections Plan and Application.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Allen Dannenberg, Joseph Baumann, Roger Bergman, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, Francisco Garcia, Gregory DeJong, James Holtvluwer, Douglas Zylstra, Philip Kuyers, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-118

Joseph Baumann moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the Resolution of Intent to increase the 2022 Millage Rate for County Operations, and E-911, Parks, Road Commission, and CMH special millages, and set a public hearing for June 14, 2022.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Philip Kuyers, James Holtvluwer, Randall Meppelink, Kyle Terpstra, Francisco Garcia, Douglas Zylstra, Roger Bergman, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, Joseph Baumann, Matthew Fenske. (11)

B/C 22-119

Joseph Baumann moved to approve the spending of ARPA dollars on 4 projects totaling \$20,712,572.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Roger Bergman, Philip Kuyers, Francisco Garcia, James Holtvluwer, Joseph Baumann, Gregory DeJong, Randall Meppelink, Allen Dannenberg, Kyle Terpstra, Matthew Fenske. (10)

Nays: Douglas Zylstra (1)

B/C 22-120

Joseph Baumann moved to approve the 2022 budget adjustments per the attached schedule.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Douglas Zylstra, Roger Bergman, Joseph Baumann, Philip Kuyers, Francisco Garcia, Randall Meppelink, Allen Dannenberg, Gregory DeJong, James Holtvluwer, Kyle Terpstra, Matthew Fenske. (11)

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners commented on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

Online Public Comments

1. Megan Ryan-Holland Township

Chair Fenske adjourned the meeting at 3:00 p.m.

JUSTIN F. ROEBUCK, Clerk/Register
Of the Board of Commissioners

MATTHEW R. FENSKE, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners