APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JANUARY SESSION – FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 10, 2023, at 9:02 a.m. and was called to order by the Chairperson.

Pastor Bart Spencer, Lighthouse Baptist Church, pronounced the invocation.

Douglas Zylstra led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

Present at roll call: Gretchen Cosby, Lucy Ebel, Douglas Zylstra, Jacob Bonnema, Joe Moss, Kyle Terpstra, Rebekah Curran, Sylvia Rhodea, Roger Belknap, Roger Bergman, Allison Miedema. (11)

Public Comments

Public comments were made by the following:

- 1. Dianne Fikse-Holland Township
- 2. Darlene Dykstra-Georgetown Township
- 3. Linda Namenye-Spring Lake Township
- 4. Joel Studbaker-Jamestown Township
- 5. Barbara Lee VanHorssen-Grand Haven City
- 6. Bruce Greenlee-Park Township
- 7. Donna Mooney-Georgetown Township
- 8. Tammy Clark-Grand Haven
- 9. Kristen Meghan Kelly-Jamestown Township
- 10. Kathleen O'Brien-Port Sheldon Township
- 11. Stephen Rockman-Grand Haven Township
- 12. Jeff King-Jamestown Township
- 13. Karen Obits-Spring Lake Village
- 14. Ruth Stegeman-Holland City
- 15. Mary Bockheim-Tallmadge Township
- 16. Don Bockheim-Tallmadge Township
- 17. Beth Eegge-Holland Township
- 18. Tom Parker-City of Zeeland
- 19. Joe F Spaulding-Holland Township
- 20. Dan Zimmer-Port Sheldon Township
- 21. Harvey Nikkel-Georgetown Township
- 22. Michael Kuras-Spring Lake Township
- 23. Jack Timmer-Georgetown Township
- 24. Kristen Hintz-Park Township
- 25. Cynthia Veldheerd-Holland City
- 26. Susan Pecking-Grand Haven

- 27. Kevin Crowe-Allendale Township
- 28. Walter Davis-Grand Haven

The Chairperson called for a short recess at 10:27 a.m.

The Chairperson called the meeting back to order at 10:39 a.m.

- 29. Andrea Hendrick-Grand Haven Township
- 30. James Krol-Georgetown Township
- 31. Ryan Cotton-Grand Haven City
- 32. David Morren-Allendale Township
- 33. Linda Ford-Georgetown Township
- 34. Elizabeth Brubaker-Holland Township
- 35. Ken Zahm-Wright Township
- 36. Candice Malivuk-Park Township
- 37. Gail Harrison-Grand Haven Township
- 38. Thomas Coulter-Holland Township
- 39. Jeanine Kasper-Allendale Township
- 40. Kathryn Roberts-Grand Haven City
- 41. Justine Robinson-Holland Township

Correspondence-Senator Mark Huizenga was unable to attend the meeting.

B/C 23-046 Sylvia Rhodea moved to approve the agenda of today with changes to the Grand Valley Metropolitan Council Appointments that will be explained when that motion is reached on the agenda.

The motion passed.

- B/C 23-047 Roger Belknap moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions with the removal of C from Consent and move it to an Action Item:
 - A. To approve the minutes of December 13, 2022 Board of Commissioners meeting and the January 3, 2023 Board of Commissioners Organizational meeting.
 - B. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$17,710,192.43 as presented by the summary report for November 28, 2022 through December 30, 2022.
 - C. To receive for information the Correspondence Log.

The motion passed.

B/C 23-048 Roger Belknap moved to ratify all contracts currently pending on the post-execution ratification list as authorized under Section IV(D)(2) of the Ottawa County Contracting Authorization and Form Policy.

The motion passed.

B/C 23-049 Sylvia Rhodea moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the Legal Services Agreement with Kallman Legal Group.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Gretchen Cosby, Allison Miedema, Lucy Ebel, Roger Belknap, Sylvia Rhodea, Joe Moss. (6)

Nays: Roger Bergman, Douglas Zylstra, Jacob Bonnema, Kyle Terpstra, Rebekah Curran. (5)

B/C 23-050 Douglas Zylstra moved to retain Kallman Legal Group until February 28, 2023, and to open it up to a search process.

The motion failed by the following votes: Nays: Roger Belknap, Gretchen Cosby, Sylvia Rhodea, Allison Miedema, Lucy Ebel, Joe Moss. (6)

Yeas: Rebekah Curran, Jacob Bonnema, Douglas Zylstra, Kyle Terpstra, Roger Bergman. (5)

B/C 23-051 Sylvia Rhodea moved to approve the appointment of County Administrator John Gibbs to the Grand Valley Metropolitan Council Board of Directors and Executive Committee and to remove Douglas Zylstra from the Parks and Recreation Commission, remove Lucy Ebel from the Grand Valley Metro Council and replace her with Kyle Terpstra, remove Roger Bergman from the Insurance Authority and replace him with Lucy Ebel, and remove Gretchen Cosby from the West Michigan Shoreline Regional Development Commission.

The motion passed.

Committee Reports-Roger Belknap attended the Brownfield Redevelopment Authority and the Economic Development Corporation meetings this past week. He has an upcoming Groundwater Board meeting.

Chairperson Moss called for a short recess at 12:21 p.m.

Chairperson Moss called the meeting back to order at 12:41 p.m.

Public Comment

- 1. Nathan Adamczyk-Robinson Township
- 2. David Morren-Allendale Township
- 3. Harvey Nikkel-Georgetown Township
- 4. Sheryl DeVries-Holland Township

Zoom Public Comment

- 1. Sarah Vanderwall-Jamestown Township
- 2. Oliver Shampine-Grand Haven City
- 3. Dan Winiarski

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners made comments and gave general information, including Commissioners Zylstra, Commissioner Bergman, Vice-Chairperson Rhodea, Commissioner Bonnema, Commissioner Belknap, and Chairperson Moss.

B/C 23-052 Rebekah Curran moved to adjourn the meeting at 1:07 p.m. The motion passed.

JUSTIN F. ROEBUCK, Clerk/Register Of the Board of Commissioners JOE MOSS, Chairperson Of the Board of Commissioners