## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JANUARY SESSION – SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 24, 2023, at 6:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairperson.

Larry Johnson, Pastor for Senior Citizens at Central Holland Church, pronounced the invocation.

Commissioner Belknap led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

Present at roll call: Gretchen Cosby, Lucy Ebel, Douglas Zylstra, Jacob Bonnema, Joe Moss, Kyle Terpstra, Rebekah Curran, Sylvia Rhodea, Roger Belknap, Roger Bergman, Allison Miedema. (11)

B/C 23-053 Sylvia Rhodea moved to switch Item 4 (Public Comment) and Item 5 (Correspondence, Life Saving Award) on the agenda.

The motion passed.

#### Correspondence

A. Life Saving Award-Sheriff Steve Kempker presented Deputy Joseph Rohloff with the Life Saving Award.

#### Public Comments

Public comments were made by the following:

- 1. Walter Davis-Grand Haven
- 2. Dan Zimmer-Port Sheldon Township
- 3. Heather Herrygers-West Olive
- 4. Rob Davidson-Spring Lake
- 5. Tracy Reed-Grand Haven
- 6. Teresa DeGraaf-Port Sheldon Township
- 7. Darlene Dykstra-Georgetown Township
- 8. Julie Yoas-Grand Haven Township
- 9. James Allen-Holland Township
- 10. Joe Spaulding-Holland Township
- 11. Sarah Westhuis-Georgetown Township
- 12. Ryan Anderson-Chester Township
- 13. Ronnie Allen-Allendale Township
- 14. Krista Yetzke-Allendale Township
- 15. Robert Boersma-Park Township
- 16. Cindy Kornoelje-Tallmadge Township

- 17. Kay Sumners-Crockery Township
- 18. Holly Little-Park Township
- 19. Donna Mooney-Georgetown Township
- 20. Charity McMaster-Spring Lake Village
- 21. Kevin Crowe-Allendale Township
- 22. Kelly Rice-Crockery Township
- 23. Rebecca Patrick-Allendale Township
- 24. Liz Ramie-Allendale Township
- 25. Amber Ciesielski-Allendale Township
- 26. Dale Sullivan-Spring Lake Village
- 27. Robert Collins-Spring Lake Village
- 28. Jeanne Lutz-Robinson Township
- 29. Deb Ralya-City of Holland
- 30. Karen Obits-Spring Lake
- 31. Adrea Hill-Holland Township
- 32. Tom Manning-Zeeland
- 33. Kelly Vruggink-Zeeland
- 34. Nick Brock-Grandville
- 35. Mike Kuras-Spring Lake Township
- 36. Joel Studdebaker-Jamestown Township
- 37. Kelsey Studdebaker-Jamestown Township
- 38. Rich Dausman-Wright Township
- 39. Bruce Greenly-Park Township
- 40. Virginia Greenly-Park Township
- 41. Jim Chiodo-Park Township
- 42. Debra Cizek-Port Sheldon Township
- 43. Christi Meppelink-Zeeland Township
- 44. David Morren-Allendale Township
- 45. Sally Cronkright-Blendon Township
- 46. Roger Williams-Grand Haven City
- 47. Aaron Compagner-Hudsonville
- 48. Jack Timmer-Georgetown Township
- 49. Alpha Mansaray-Holland Township
- 50. Zachary Schmidt-Allendale Township
- 51. Brock Johnson-Grand Rapids
- 52. Mikayla Andrea-Park Township
- 53. Barbara Cote-Park Township
- 54. Kristin Hintz-Park Township
- 55. Steven Poelman-Coopersville
- 56. Michael Derpilidosian-Allendale Township
- 57. Don Bergman-Park Township

Chairperson Moss declared a recess at 9:17 p.m.

Commissioner Bergman left the meeting at 9:17 p.m.

Chairperson Moss called the meeting back to order at 9:31 p.m.

B/C 23-054 Rebekah Curran moved to approve the agenda of today.

The motion passed.

- B/C 23-055 Rebekah Curran moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
  - A. To approve the minutes of the January 10, 2023, Board of Commissioners meeting.
  - B. To receive for information the Ottawa County Public Defender 2022 Annual Report.
  - C. To receive for information the Ottawa County Treasurer 2022 Annual Report.
  - D. To receive for information the Ottawa County Department of Strategic Impact 2022 Annual Report.
  - E. To approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the Park Services Agreement between Port Sheldon Township and the Ottawa County Parks and Recreation Commission that will accept management responsibilities and revenue generation rights to the Ottawa County Parks and Recreation Commission.
  - F. To approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the new Interlocal Prosecution Agreement between Ottawa County and Allegan County.
  - G. To approve the proposal to change one .6 FTE, benefited Weatherization Inspector position at universal paygrade 7 to a 1.0 FTE for a total cost of \$14,786.25.
  - H. To approve the proposal to add one, 1.0 FTE full-time, benefited Assistant Mental Health Financial Manager position at a universal paygrade 13 for a total cost of \$117,738.00 paid for with grand funding and Medicaid.
  - I. To approve the proposal to change one, 1.0 FTE full-time, benefited Maintenance Worker position at universal paygrade 5 to a Maintenance Technician at universal paygrade 7 for a total cost of \$8,140.38.
  - J. To approve the 2023 budget adjustments per the attached schedule.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Roger Belknap, Rebekah Curran, Gretchen Cosby, Jacob Bonnema, Sylvia Rhodea, Douglas Zylstra, Kyle Terpstra, Allison Miedema, Lucy Ebel, Joe Moss. (10)

B/C 23-056 Sylvia Rhodea moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk/Register to sign the Resolution adopting the 2022 Kent County, Ottawa County and the City of Grand Rapids Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Gretchen Cosby, Douglas Zylstra, Jacob Bonnema, Kyle Terpstra, Allison Miedema, Rebekah Curran, Lucy Ebel, Roger Belknap, Sylvia Rhodea, Joe Moss. (10) Committee Reports

- A. Ottawa County Public Defender Annual Report-Nichole Derks presented the 2022 Ottawa County Public Defender Annual Report.
- B. Ottawa County Treasurer Annual Report-Amanda Price presented the 2022 Ottawa County Treasurer Annual Report.
- C. Ottawa County Department of Strategic Impact Annual Report-Paul Sachs presented the 2022 Ottawa County Department of Strategic Impact Annual Report.

### Public Comment

- 1. Dan Zimmer-Port Sheldon Township
- 2. Jim Kuiper-Holland Township
- 3. David Morren-Allendale Township
- 4. Barbara Cote-Park Township
- 5. Robert Boersma-Park Township
- 6. Kristin Hintz-Park Township
- 7. Virginia Greenly-Park Township

# Zoom Public Comment

- 1. Harvey Nikkel-Georgetown Township
- 2. Joe Spaulding-Holland Township
- 3. Jewel Wichman-Ferrysburg

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners made comments and gave general information, including Commissioner Miedema, Commissioner Bonnema, and Commissioner Rhodea.

B/C 23-057 Rebekah Curran moved to adjourn the meeting at 11:14 p.m. The motion passed.

JUSTIN F. ROEBUCK, Clerk/Register Of the Board of Commissioners JOE MOSS, Chairperson Of the Board of Commissioners