Agenda Health & Human Services Committee West Olive Administration Building – Board Room and YouTube 12220 Fillmore Street, West Olive, Michigan 49460 Tuesday, February 21, 2023 9:00 AM

Public Comment

Approval of Agenda

Consent Resolutions

1. Approval of the Proposed Minutes from the <u>December 14, 2022</u> and <u>January 31, 2023</u> Health and Human Services Committee meetings.

Agenda and Action Requests: None

Committee Reports:

- I. Community Mental Health, Lynne Doyle
- 2. Community Action Agency, Jennifer Brozowski
- 3. Public Health Department, Adeline Hambley
- 4. Department of Health and Human Services, Kendra Spanjer

Public Comment

Adjournment at Call of the Chairperson

Note: Public Comments on the day's business are to be limited to three (3) minutes.

HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE

Proposed Minutes

DATE: December 14, 2022

TIME:9:31 a.m.PLACE:Fillmore Street ComplexPRESENT:Allen Dannenberg, James Holtvluwer, Joseph Baumann, and Randy Meppelink (zoom)
(4)

ABSENT: Kyle Terpstra (1)

STAFF & GUESTS: John Shay, County Administrator; Rachel Sanchez, Chief Deputy Register; Madison Schnaidt, Clerk/Register Specialist; Jen Brozowski, Community Action Agency Program Director; Lisa Stefanovsky, Health Officer; Lynne Doyle, CMH Director; Patrick Cisler, Human Services Coordinating Council Executive Director; Zoom attendants: Patrick Waterman, Assistant County Administrator; Gwen Unzicker, Public Health Medical Director; Kendra Spanjer, DHS Director; Sierra Schuetz, Health Educator

SUBJECT: CONSENT ITEMS

HHS 22-028Motion: To approve the agenda of today and to approve the minutes from the
November 9, 2022, meeting as presented.
Moved by: BaumannUNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: ACTION ITEMS

None

SUBJECT: DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 1. Ottawa Food Update-Sierra Schuetz gave an Ottawa Food update.
- 2. Department Updates
 - a. Human Services Coordinating Council- Patrick Cisler gave a Housing Next, ARPA, and unsheltered homeless population update.
 - b. Community Mental Health- Lynne Doyle gave a mental health update.
 - c. Community Action Agency-Jen Brozowski gave a Community Action Agency update.
 - d. Public Health Department- Lisa Stefanovsky and Gwen Unzicker gave a public health update.
 - e. Department of Human Services Kendra Spanjer gave a DHHS update.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE

Proposed Minutes

DATE: January 31, 2023

TIME: 9:02 a.m.

PLACE: Fillmore Street Complex

PRESENT: Gretchen Cosby, Lucy Ebel, Jacob Bonnema, Joe Moss, Rebekah Curran, Sylvia Rhodea, Roger Belknap, and Allison Miedema (8)

ABSENT: Doug Zylstra (1)

STAFF & GUESTS: John Gibbs, County Administrator; Patrick Waterman, Deputy County Administrator; Jack Jordan, Corporation Counsel; Rachel Sanchez, Chief Deputy Register; Katelyn Bard, Clerk/Register Specialist; Jennifer Brozowski, Community Action Agency Program Director; Adeline Hambley, Health Officer; Heather Alberda, Health Educator; Lynne Doyle, CMH Director; Patrick Cisler, Human Services Coordinating Council Executive Director; Kendra Spanjer, DHHS Director; Zoom attendants: Gwen Unzicker, Public Health Medical Director; Public Members; David Barnosky, Teresa White, Lori Grasman, Emily Underwood, Olivia Underwood, Dena Arner, Rob Davidson, Karen Obits, Cindy Spielmaker, Megan Ryan, Jerry Morlock, Craig Bade, Amy Bade, Julia Davey, Krista Yetzke, Craig Ebel, Joanne Patterson, Don Shiell, Ronnie Allen, Paul Windemuller, Media Members; Mitchell Boatman, Holland Sentinel and Audrey Gamble, MLive

SUBJECT: PUBLIC COMMENT

- 1. Teresa White-Robinson Township
- 2. Lori Grasman-Robinson Township
- 3. Megan Ryan-Holland Township

SUBJECT: CONSENT ITEMS

- HHS 23-001 Motion: To move #2, the approval of the minutes from the December 14, 2022 Health and Human Services Committee meeting to Discussion Item #2.Moved by: Cosby
- HHS 23-002Motion: To approve the agenda of today.Moved by: CurranUNANIMOUS

SUBJECT: ACTION ITEMS

HHS 23-003Motion: To elect Gretchen Cosby as Vice Chairperson of the Health and Human Services
Committee for 2023.
Moved by: MossUNANIMOUS

Commissioner Zylstra joined the meeting via Zoom at 9:10 a.m.

SUBJECT: DISCUSSION ITEMS

- 1. Department Updates
 - a. Human Services Coordinating Council- Patrick Cisler gave a Community SPOKE update for the new commissioners.
 - b. Community Mental Health- Lynne Doyle gave an overview of the Community Mental Health Department and services and then gave a mental health update.
 - c. Community Action Agency-Jennifer Brozowski gave a Community Action Agency overview and update.
 - d. Public Health Department-Adeline Hambley gave a public health overview of services and update.
 - e. Department of Human Services Kendra Spanjer gave a DHHS overview and update.
- 2. Approval of the Proposed Minutes from the December 14, 2022 Health and Human Services Committee Meeting-Commissioners Cosby would like to wait to approve these minutes until the video of the meeting is live on the website.
- HHS 23-004Motion: To move the approval of the Proposed Minutes from the December 14, 2022
Health and Human Services Committee Meeting to the next Health and Human Services
meeting on February 21, 2023.
Moved by: CosbyUNANIMOUS
- HHS 23-005 Motion: To amend the agenda to add another Discussion Item to the current agenda. Moved by: Cosby

The motion passed with the following votes: Yeas: Roger Belknap, Rebekah Curran, Gretchen Cosby, Jacob Bonnema, Sylvia Rhodea, Douglas Zylstra, Allison Miedema, Lucy Ebel, Joe Moss. (9)

- 3. Public Health Officer-Commissioner Cosby passed out and discussed some information about Nathaniel Kelly's background and experience, as well as an article regarding the connection between occupational safety and health and public health.
- HHS 23-006 Motion: To take a recess break. Moved by: Moss

The motion failed by the following votes: Nays: Douglas Zylstra, Jacob Bonnema, Allison Miedema, Rebekah Curran, Roger Belknap. (5)

Yeas: Gretchen Cosby, Lucy Ebel, Sylvia Rhodea, Joe Moss. (4)

SUBJECT: PUBLIC COMMENT

1. Rob Davidson-Spring Lake Township

- 2. David Barnosky-Port Sheldon Township
- 3. Megan Ryan-Holland Township
- 4. Jerry Morlock-Grand Haven
- 5. Karen Obits-Grand Haven
- 6. Dena Arner-Holland Township
- 7. Joe Spaulding-Holland Township (Zoom)
- 8. Ronnie Allen-Allendale Township
- HHS 23-007 Motion: To adjourn at 11:22 a.m. Moved by: Belknap

The motion passed by the following votes: Yeas: Jacob Bonnema, Lucy Ebel, Allison Miedema, Gretchen Cosby, Sylvia Rhodea, Rebekah Curran, Douglas Zylstra, Roger Belknap, Joe Moss. (9)