TALENT & RECRUITMENT COMMITTEE

Approved Minutes

DATE: January 31, 2023

TIME: 11:43 a.m.

PLACE: Fillmore Street Complex

PRESENT: Gretchen Cosby, Lucy Ebel, Doug Zylstra (Zoom), Jacob Bonnema, Joe Moss, Rebekah

Curran, Sylvia Rhodea, Roger Belknap, and Allison Miedema (9)

ABSENT: Kyle Terpstra (1)

STAFF & GUESTS: John Gibbs, County Administrator; Patrick Waterman, Deputy County Administrator; Jack Jordan, Corporation Counsel; Rachel Sanchez, Chief Deputy Register of Deeds; Katelyn Bard, Clerk/Register Specialist; Jennifer Brozowski, CAA Director; Marcia VerBeek, HR Director; Black Upright, Facilities Director; Public Members; David Barnosky, Lori Grasman, Teresa White, Karen Obits, Megan Ryan, Craig Ebel, Paul Windemuller

SUBJECT: PUBLIC COMMENT

1. Megan Ryan-Holland Township

Commissioner Terpstra joined the meeting via Zoom at 11:46 a.m.

SUBJECT: CONSENT ITEMS

TR 23-001 Motion: To approve the agenda of today with the change to Discussion Items by moving

number 3, Special Committee: Agriculture Education to number 1 and move all the rest

down.

Moved by: Curran

The motion passed with the following votes: Yeas: Douglas Zylstra, Lucy Ebel, Roger

Belknap, Gretchen Cosby, Allison Miedema, Jacob Bonnema, Sylvia Rhodea, Rebekah

Curran, Kyle Terpstra, Joe Moss. (10)

TR 23-002 Motion: To move Consent Item #2, approval of the Minutes from the December 13,

2022 Talent and Recruitment Committee meeting to Discussion Item #4.

Moved by: Cosby

SUBJECT: ELECTION OF COMMITTEE VICE CHAIR

TR 23-003 Motion: To elect Lucy Ebel as Vice Chairperson of the Talent and Recruitment

Committee for 2023. Moved by: Belknap

TR 23-004 Motion: To elect Jacob Bonnema as Vice Chairperson of the Talent and Recruitment

Committee for 2023. Moved by: Terpstra

TR 23-005 Motion: To elect Kyle Terpstra as Vice Chairperson of the Talent and Recruitment

Committee for 2023. Moved by: Bonnema

Roll Call Vote:

Mrs. Ebel-Ebel Ms. Cosby-Ebel
Mrs. Miedema-Ebel Mrs. Curran-Terpstra
Mrs. Rhodea-Ebel Mr. Zylstra-Terpstra
Mr. Terpstra-Bonnema Mr. Belknap-Ebel
Mr. Bonnema-Terpstra Mr. Moss-Ebel

Chairperson Miedema declared Lucy Ebel as Vice Chairperson of the Talent and Recruitment Committee for 2023.

SUBJECT: ELECTION OF INTERVIEW SUB-COMMITTEE MEMBERS

TR 23-006 Motion: To elect Allison Miedema (Chairperson), Lucy Ebel (Vice-Chairperson), and Gretchen Cosby, to the Talent and Recruitment Interview Sub-Committee for 2023. Moved by: Moss

The motion passed with the following votes: Yeas: Kyle Terpstra, Rebekah Curran, Roger Belknap, Sylvia Rhodea, Allison Miedema, Lucy Ebel, Jacob Bonnema, Gretchen Cosby, Joe Moss. (9)

Nays: Douglas Zylstra. (1)

SUBJECT: COMMUNITY ACTION AGENCY ADVISORY BOARD

Suggested Motion: To place into nomination and forward to the Board of Commissioners the name of (*indicates recommendation from the Community Action Agency Advisory Board)

*Britney Brown

and to select one (1) to fill one (1) Consumers Sector vacancy beginning immediately and ending December 31, 2023.

TR 23-007 Motion: To reject the application for Britney Brown from the Community Action Agency

Advisory Board. Moved by: Moss

TR 23-008 Motion: To amend the motion to move the current applicant from the Community Action Agency Advisory Board to the interview sub-committee, as well as allowing other applications to be received and reviewed by the Community Action Agency Advisory

Board and interview sub-committee. The interview sub-committee will report back to the Talent and Recruitment Committee with an applicant to approve.

Moved by: Zylstra

The motion passed with the following votes: Yeas: Gretchen Cosby, Douglas Zylstra, Jacob Bonnema, Kyle Terpstra, Allison Miedema, Rebekah Curran, Lucy Ebel, Roger Belknap, Sylvia Rhodea, Joe Moss. (10)

SUBJECT: DISCUSSION ITEMS

1. Special Committee: Agriculture Education-Paul Windemuller presented to the Committee with his thoughts on why he sees the need to create an Agriculture Education Development Special Committee. His vision and scope would be to educate individuals and youth about Agriculture while gaining more resources to help facilitate that education.

Commissioner Bonnema left the meeting at 12:38 p.m.

TR 23-009 Motion: To refer to the Board of Commissioners the Special Committee for Agriculture

Education.

Moved by: Miedema

TR 23-010 Motion: To amend the motion to put the Agriculture Education Special Committee request as an action item on the next Talent and Recruitment Committee meeting on February 21, 2023.

Moved by: Miedema

The motion passed with the following votes: Yeas: Lucy Ebel, Allison Miedema, Kyle Terpstra, Gretchen Cosby, Sylvia Rhodea, Rebekah Curran, Douglas Zylstra, Roger Belknap, Joe Moss. (9)

Commissioner Zylstra left the meeting at 1:08 p.m.

Commissioner Terpstra left the meeting at 1:10 p.m.

2. Scope, Mission, and Meeting Frequency of the Talent & Recruitment Board-Chairperson Miedema went over the rules and purpose of this committee and discussion was had.

TR 23-011 Motion: To begin a thorough review process of special committees as an action item on

the next Talent and Recruitment meeting on February 21, 2023.

Moved by: Rhodea UNANIMOUS

Commissioner Belknap left the meeting at 1:11 p.m.

Commissioner Zylstra returned to the meeting at 1:11 p.m.

3. Process of Applications-Chairperson Miedema went over the current process for applications.

TR 23-012 Motion: To review the process of applications for the extra committees beyond the standing committees, including how the county is informing the public of the process for the applications coming in, as an action item at the next Talent and Recruitment Committee meeting on February 21, 2023.

Moved by: Rhodea

The motion passed with the following votes: Yeas: Douglas Zylstra, Gretchen Cosby, Rebekah Curran, Lucy Ebel, Sylvia Rhodea, Allison Miedema, Joe Moss. (7)

4. Approval of minutes-Commissioner Cosby voiced some concerns about a Treasurer email regarding the Officers for Compensation Committee that they have not had access to. She would like to get a hold of that email before approving the minutes.

TR 23-013 Motion: To postpone the approval of the minutes from the December 13, 2022 Talent and Recruitment Committee meeting until the next meeting on February 21, 2023.

Moved by: Cosby

Commissioner Curran left the meeting at 1:16 p.m.

The motion passed with the following votes: Yeas: Douglas Zylstra, Lucy Ebel, Gretchen Cosby, Allison Miedema, Sylvia Rhodea, Joe Moss. (6)

TR 23-014 Motion: To adjourn the meeting 1:18 p.m.

Moved by: Cosby UNANIMOUS