## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Friday, January 2, 1998 at 1:30 P.M. and was called to order by the Clerk

Mr. Rycenga pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Vander Laan, Karsten, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Hernandez, Haveman, Hilldore, Langeland and Swartout. (13)

The Clerk opened the floor for nominations for Temporary Chairman.

Mr. Karsten nominated Mr. Schrotenboer. Mr. Vander Laan supported the motion.

<u>B/C 98-001</u> Mr. Vander Laan moved the nominations be closed and the Clerk cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Schrotenboer. Mr. Karsten supported the motion and the motion passed.

Mr. Schrotenboer as Temporary Chairman opened the nominations for Chairman of the Board.

Mr. Vander Laan nominated Mr. Vander Kam. Mr. Schipper supported the motion.

Mr. Rinck nominated Dr. Mohr. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion.

<u>B/C 98-002</u> Mr. Rycenga moved to close the nominations. Mr. Hilldore supported the motion and the motion passed.

<u>B/C 98-003</u> Mr. Hildore moved the vote be taken by secret ballot. Mr. Hernandez supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Vander Laan, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Hernandez, Hilldore, Langeland and Swartout. (8) Nays: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Karsten and Haveman. (5)

The result of the secret ballot was: Mr. Vander Kam - 8, Dr. Mohr - 5

<u>B/C 98-004</u> Dr. Mohr moved that a unanimous ballot be cast for Mr. Vander Kam for Chairman of the Board. Mr. Swartout supported the motion and the motion passed. The Clerk declared that Mr. Vander Kam has been elected Chairman of the Board. Mr. Vander Kam occupied the Chair and called for nominations for the office of Vice Chairman of the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Hernandez nominated Mr. Langeland. Mr. Hilldore supported the motion.

Mr. Rycenga nominated Mr. Swartout. Mr. Rinck supported the motion.

<u>B/C 98-005</u> Mr. Swartout moved to close the nominations. Mr. Schipper supported the motion and the motion passed.

1 of 2 6/19/2006 11:02 AM

The result of the roll call vote was as follows:

Mr. Rycenga - Swartout Mr. Haveman - Swartout

Dr. Mohr - Swartout Mr. Hilldore - Langeland

Mr. Vander Laan - Langeland Mr. Langeland - Langeland

Mr. Karsten - Langeland Mr. Swartout - Swartout

Mr. Schipper - Langeland Mr. Rinck - Swartout

Mr. Schrotenboer - Langeland Mr. Vander Kam - Langeland

Mr. Hernandez - Langeland

Total votes were as follows: Mr. Langeland - 8, Mr. Swartout - 5

The Chairman declared that Mr. Langeland has been elected Vice Chairman of the Board of Commissioners.

The Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Chairman and Vice Chairman.

The Chairman presented the Committee structure for the Board for 1998.

FINANCE - Rycenga, Chairman, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Mohr, Haveman

ADMINISTRATION & PLANNING - Mohr, Chairman, Haveman, Schipper, Vander Laan, Swartout

CRIMINAL JUSTICE - Hilldore, Chairman, Langeland, Hernandez, Swartout, Rinck

LEGISLATIVE & LEGAL REVIEW - Hernandez, Chairman, Karsten, Mohr, Hilldore, Schipper,

TRANSPORTATION & LAND USE - Haveman, Chairman, Langeland, Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer

PUBLIC RELATIONS - Swartout, Chairman, Langeland, Schrotenboer

HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES - Karsten, Chairman, Hilldore, Vander Laan, Rinck, Rycenga

Each committee is made up of an odd number so that in voting there will be no ties. Some committees overlap somewhat, allowing for combined committee meetings on key issues. Parks, Drain Commission and U.S. 31 should report out of Transportation and Land Use.

<u>B/C 98-006</u> Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve the Committee appointments for 1998 as presented and change the Board Rules from a three (3) committee structure to a seven (7) committee structure. Mr. Karsten supported the motion and the motion passed.

<u>B/C 98-007</u> Mr. Hilldore moved to adjourn at 2:00 P.M. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Haveman supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk CORNELIUS VANDER KAM, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners

2 of 2 6/19/2006 11:02 AM