APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARCH SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, March 10, 1998 at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Schipper pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Vander Laan, Karsten, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Hernandez, Haveman, Hilldore, Langeland and Swartout. (13)

Mr. Vander Kam asked for comments on the Minutes of the February 24, 1998 meeting, there being none he then declared the Minutes approved.

<u>**B/C 98-090</u>** Mr. Swartout moved to receive as information the Correspondence Log No. 259. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed.</u>

 $\underline{B/C \ 98-091}$ Mr. Rinck moved to approve the Agenda of today as presented. Mr. Karsten supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 98-092 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,408,966.91 as presented by the summary report for February 16 through February 28, 1998. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Haveman, Hilldore, Langeland, Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Vander Laan, Karsten, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Hernandez and Vander Kam. (13)

B/C 98-093 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the following wage and benefit adjustment for the Community Corrections Department's full-time and regular part-time employees and for the LEPC Coordinator (henceforth known as the Group W employees): Effective 1/01/98, a 2.8% increase in wages, increase the cap on the County's match on deferred compensation from \$500 to \$750 per year and adjust the mileage reimbursement rate to the IRS rate. Mr. Swartout supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Hilldore, Langeland, Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Vander Laan, Karsten, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Hernandez, Haveman and Vander Kam. (13)

B/C 98-094 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve an increase in wages of 2.8% effective 1/01/98 for the Community Corrections Department's temporary Community Services Officer. Mr. Haveman supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Langeland, Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Vander Laan, Karsten, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Hernandez, Haveman, Hilldore and Vander Kam. (13)

B/C 98-095 Mr. Rycenga moved to authorize the payroll of March 10, 1998 in the amount of \$683.18. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Vander Laan, Karsten, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Hernandez, Haveman, Hilldore, Langeland and Vander Kam. (13)

Dr. Mohr and Mr. Swartout updated the Board on the Administration and Planning Committee.

Mr. Hernandez updated the Board on the Legislative and Legal Review Committee. Discussion regarding new Board Rules, Solid Waster Planning and the Friend of the Court Advisory Committee.

Mr. Haveman updated the Board on the Transportation and Land Use Committee. Discussion on the traffic problems on the east side of Georgetown Township.

Mr. Karsten updated the Board on the Health and Human Services Committee. Discussion regarding goal setting.

Bill Lamain, Health Officer, presented the Annual Report of the Ottawa County Medical Examiner.

<u>**B/C 98-096</u>** Mr. Karsten moved to receive for information the Ottawa County Medical Examiner's Report. Mr. Vander Laan supported the motion and the motion passed.</u>

Dr. Rudolph Lie, Mental Health Services Director, introduced Gerard Cyranowski the new Mental Health Services Program Director.

Dr. Lie presented the Ottawa County Community Mental Health Report for 1996/1997.

<u>**B/C 98-097**</u> Mr. Karsten moved to receive the Ottawa County Community Mental Health Report for 1996/1997. Mr. Vander Laan supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 98-098 Mr. Karsten moved to set aside \$15,000 out of tipping fees for a mini grant for recycling plastic from greenhouse growers. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Vander Laan, Karsten, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Hernandez, Haveman, Hilldore, Langeland, Swartout and Vander Kam. (13)

<u>B/C 98-099</u> Mr. Karsten moved to allow Employment and Training to apply for Michigan State Housing Development Authority Grant in the amount of \$20,000. Mr. Swartout supported the motion and the motion passed.

<u>B/C 98-100</u> Mr. Hilldore moved to place the names of Carl Noe and James McDowall in nomination for appointment to the Ottawa County Mental Health Board. Mr. Rycenga supported the nominations.

<u>**B/C 98-101**</u> Dr. Mohr moved to close the nominations and the clerk cast an unanimous ballot. Mr. Karsten supported the motion and the motion passed.

Several Commissioners reported on meetings attended at the NACO Conference in Washington.

<u>**B/C 98-102</u>** Mr. Rinck moved to adjourn subject to the call of the Chairman at 2:30 p.m. Mr. Hernandez supported the motion and the motion passed.</u>

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk CORNELIUS VANDER KAM, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners