## PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS NOVEMBER SESSION - SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, November 23, 1999 at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Swartout pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, VanderKam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Swartout. (13)

Mr. VanderKam asked for comments on the Minutes of the November 9, 1999 meeting, there being none the Minutes were approved as presented.

A letter was read from the MAC Jail Reimbursement Committee regarding the Jail Reimbursement Formula.

 $\underline{B/C \ 99-363}$  Mr. Schrotenboer moved to accept and forward the letter to the Criminal Justice Committee. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

A letter was read from Joe Gavin, Wright Township Supervisor, resigning his position on the Region 14 Board of Directors.

<u>**B/C 99-364</u>** Mr. Rycenga moved to accept the letter for information. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and motion passed.</u>

Chuck Pistis, Director MSU Extension; Elizabeth Scott, 4-H Youth Agent; and the 4-H Team Club presented the Board with new Plat Books and Plat Maps.

**B/C 99-365** Mr. Rinck moved to approve the agenda of today. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion.

**B/C 99-366** Mr. Rycenga moved to amend B/C 99-365 to add under Finance Committee 2A. Municipal Landfill Cost-Share Grant Application. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed. A vote was then taken on the amended motion and the motion passed.

**<u>B/C 99-367</u>** Mr. Schipper moved to fill the vacancy on the Human Services Coordinating Council representing the Consumer Sector with Ms. P.J. Coldren. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed.

Mr. VanderKam presented Rosemary Zink, Finance Director, with a Budget Award from Government Finance Officers Association.

**B/C 99-368** Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,289,767.38 as presented by the summary report for November 1, through November 12, 1999. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, VanderKam. (13)

**B/C 99-369** Mr. Rycenga moved to remove from the table Motion B/C 99348. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed.

**B/C 99-370** Mr. Rycenga moved to approve a compensation for the Board of Commissioners effective January 1, 2001 as follows: Chair \$14,000; Vice-Chair \$10,000; Commissioner \$9,500. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Schipper Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, VanderKam (9) Nays: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Berghorst (4)

**B/C 99-371** Mr. Rycenga moved to approve submission of the grant for Municipal Landfill Cost-Share Reimbursement and the resolution attesting that Ottawa County has not received reimbursement for any of the costs for which it is seeking on the grant application from any other sources. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, VanderKam (13)

**B/C 99-372** Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Payroll for November 23, 1999, in the amount of \$634.08. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, VanderKam (13)

Several commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

The Administrator's Report was presented.

<u>**B/C 99-373</u>** Mr. Berghorst moved to adjourn at 2:25 p.m. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.</u>

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk CORNELIUS VANDERKAM, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners