## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APRIL SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, April 11, 2000 at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Ms. Visscher pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present to roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

The Chairman made some comments reflecting on the Second Session of the March meeting.

Mr. Swartout read a portion of a letter written by Soren Wolff expressing his thoughts on the Windmill Island project.

## **Public Comment:**

Mr. Steve Van Hoeven, County Drain Commissioner and Linda Brown, Chief Deputy passed out literature and presented remarks concerning the new Drain Code and advocated the defeat of the proposed resolution. Several units of government were present to voice their concern with the new Drain Code and were also advocates to the defeat of the proposed resolution. The units of government present were Grand Haven Twp., Park Twp., Holland Twp., Zeeland City, and Georgetown Twp.

Barb Vanderveen introduced herself and announced that she was running for the 89th District Representative seat and if elected she would be the voice of the people. Ms. Vanderveen thanked the Board for the time allowed and provided written information about herself to any interested parties in attendance.

<u>B/C 00-096</u> Mr. VanderLaan moved to amend the agenda of today as presented and amend to add item #6, Crime Victims Rights Week, April 9-15 within Ottawa County. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the amended motion and the amended motion passed.

**B/C 00-097** Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolution:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the March 28, 2000, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 284.
- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,649,699.53 as presented by the summary report for March 20, through March 31, 2000.
- 4. To receive for information the Mid Year Report of the Ottawa County Community Corrections Department.
- 5. To authorize the payroll of April 11, 2000, in the amount of \$639.96.

1 of 3 6/13/2006 3:59 PM

6. To approve the Resolution declaring April 9-15 Crime Victims Rights Week within Ottawa County.

Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Swartout. (13)

<u>B/C 00-098</u> Mr. Rinck moved to approve the Employment Agreement dated April, 2000, for the County Administrator. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout. (12) Nays: Mr. Schrotenboer (1)

**B/C 00-099** Mr. Rycenga moved to approve budget adjustment #196, which uses \$77,636 from Contingency. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, VanderKam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (12) Dr. Mohr was not present at the time of vote.

<u>B/C 00-100</u> Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution authorizing the County Road Commission to issue Act 342 Bonds in the not-to-exceed amount of \$2,105,000 to finance the Allendale Charter Township 2000 Water supply and Sewage Disposal Systems Improvements. Mr. Schipper supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Vander Laan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Rinck, Mr. Swartout. (13)

<u>B/C 00-101</u> Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the appropriation changes approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$20,000 or less for the month of February 2000, which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (13)

<u>B/C 00-102</u> Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the revisions in Section VII of the Ottawa County Investment Policy. Mr. Berhorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (13)

<u>B/C 00-103</u> Ms. Visscher moved to recommend the appointment to the Community Mental Health Board, Lucille Van Koevering to represent families and Kristine Nale-Geiser representing primary consumers and placing in nomination the names of all applicants.

| <u>Families</u>      | Primary Consumers    |
|----------------------|----------------------|
| Robert Byrd          | Kristine Nale-Geiser |
| Marcia DeWild        | Fern Palma           |
| Lucille VanKoevering |                      |

Mr. Berghorst supported the motion.

The result of the roll call was as follows:

Mr. VanderLaan - Van Koevering, Nale-Geiser

Mr. Berghorst - Van Koevering, Nale-Geiser

Mr. Schipper - Van Koevering, Nale-Geiser

2 of 3 6/13/2006 3:59 PM

Mr. Schrotenboer - Van Koevering, Nale-Geiser

Ms. Visscher - Van Koevering, Nale-Geiser

Mr. Haveman - Van Koevering, Nale-Geiser

Mrs. Kortman - Van Koevering, Nale-Geiser

Mrs. Ruiter - Van Koevering, Nale-Geiser

Mr. Rinck - Byrd, Palma

Mr. Rycenga - Byrd, Nale-Geiser

Mr. Vander Kam - Byrd, Palma

Dr. Mohr - Byrd, Nale-Geiser

Mr. Swartout - Byrd, Nale-Geiser

Total votes were as follows: Mr. Byrd - 5, Ms. DeWild - 0, Ms. Van Koevering - 8, Ms. Nale-Geiser - 11, Ms. Palma - 2.

The Chairman declared that Ms. Van Koevering will represent families and Ms. Nale-Geiser will represent primary consumers, and have been elected to serve on the Community Mental Health Board.

A short recess was called at 2:50 p.m. and the meeting resumed at 2:57 p.m.

<u>B/C 00-104</u> Mr. VanderLaan moved to remove from the table the Building Authority Appointments that were tabled at the last meeting. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion failed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Mr. Haveman, Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (6) Nays: Messrs: Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. VanderLaan, Berghorst. (7)

## Discussion Items:

The operation of a worm farm has been started in Ottawa County to help allieviate the manure problem with animals.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

<u>B/C 00-105</u> Mr. Vander Laan moved to adjourn at 3:15 p.m. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk

DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners

3 of 3 6/13/2006 3:59 PM