APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JULY SESSION - SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, July 25, 2000 at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Rycenga pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present to roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

Public Comments:

Henry Hilbrand, Georgetown Township Supervisor, updated the Board on the Direct Access Route on I-96. He reported its a \$20 million project and will hopefully get started shortly.

Chuck Pisits, MSU Extension Director, introduced Lisa Laitinen MSU Extension new 4H Youth Mentoring Agent.

<u>B/C 00-156</u> Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 00-157 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the July 11, 2000, Board of Commissioner's Meeting.
- 2. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,666,971.07 as presented by the summary report for July 1 through July 14, 2000.
- 3. To approve the appropriation changes approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$20,000 or less for the months of May and June, 2000 which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget.
- 4. To receive as information the letter from Rehmann Robson on the County's operations.
- 5. To receive as information the County's Single Audit Report for the year ended December 31, 1999.

1 of 3 6/13/2006 4:02 PM

6. To authorize the payroll of July 25, 2000 and the July 21, 2000 Legislative Meeting in the amount of \$1,078.90.

Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (13)

<u>B/C 00-158</u> Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the 1999 Cost Allocation Plan for implementation in the 2001 Budget. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (13)

<u>B/C 00-159</u> Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Management Information Services 2001 Study for implementation in the 2001 budget. Mr. Vander Kam supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (13)

Discussion Items

Hope Network - Discussed in great detail was a letter received from Hope Network Community Haven dated July 12, 2000, regarding operation of the facility due to financial issues with a deadline to the County of September 30, 2000. Administration noted Hope Network could no longer operate because it couldn't reach their financial goals. Community Mental Health has worked closely with Hope Network. At this time there are presently 46 residents; 26 Ottawa County CMH clients, 6 from other County CMHs, and 14 FIA clients. Consensus of the Board was an audit needs to be done. The County has already given Hope Network approximately \$2 million. It was questioned why Hope Network's parent company has never used any of their own funds. It was noted several times the main concern is the residents and the transition planning. An Ad Hoc Committee will be selected to discuss various options.

<u>B/C 00-160</u> Ms. Visscher moved to amend the agenda of today to add motion B/C 00-161. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

<u>B/C 00-161</u> Ms. Visscher moved to forward a letter to Hope Network Community Haven regarding not providing any additional funds and should the Community Haven be returned to the County the County will not run it and will begin negotiations for transition of the residents of the Haven. Mr. Rinck supported the motion.

<u>B/C 00-162</u> Dr. Mohr moved to table motion B/C 00-161. Mr. Schipper supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst,

2 of 3 6/13/2006 4:02 PM

Schipper, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr. (7)

Nays: Mr. VanderLaan, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (6)

Several Commissioners gave reports on meeting attended and future meetings to be held. Mr. Swartout noted the Work Sessions will now begin at 6:30 p.m.

The County Administrator's Report was presented.

<u>B/C 00-163</u> Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:45 p.m. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

3 of 3 6/13/2006 4:02 PM