APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SEPTEMBER SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, September 12, 2000 at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Schipper pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (12)

Absent: Mr. VanderLaan (1)

Public Comments & Communications from County Staff

Gerry Cyranowski, Mental Health Services, handed out the Transition Status Report on the 28 residents at Hope Network/Community Haven that Mental Health is responsible for. Out of the 28 residents 11 moves have been completed, 10 plans are finalized and 7 plans are incomplete.

<u>**B/C 00-184</u>** Mr. Rinck moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed.</u>

B/C 00-185 Mr. Vander Kam moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

1. To approve the Minutes of August 24, and August 28, 2000, Board of Commissioners' Meetings.

2. To receive as Information the Correspondence Log 289.

3. To authorize the payroll of August 28, 2000 and September 12, 2000 in the amount of \$1,181.00.

4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,232,622.36 as presented by the summary report for August 14, through August 31, 2000.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (12)

<u>**B/C 00-186</u>** Mr. Rycenga moved to adopt a Resolution setting a wolf-dog cross annual permit fee of \$50.00. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Swartout. (12)</u>

<u>**B/C 00-187</u>** Mr. Rycenga moved to adopt a Resolution setting a large carnivore annual permit fee of \$50.00. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Schipper, Swartout. (12)</u>

<u>**B/C 00-188</u>** Mr. Rycenga moved to adopt a Resolution establishing a new fee schedule for the Soil Erosion & Sedimentation Control Agency. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (12)</u>

B/C 00-0189 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution authorizing the County Road Commission to issue Act 342 Bonds in the amount of \$990,000 to finance the Jamestown Township 2000 Water and Sewer Improvements. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Schipper Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (12)

<u>**B/C 00-190</u>** Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution of Intent to Increase the 2000 Millage Rate for Ottawa County. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Haveman, Swartout. (11)</u>

Dr. Mohr was absent at the time of roll call.

<u>**B/C 00-191</u>** Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution of Intent to Increase the 2000 Millage Rate for E-911. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout. (11)</u>

Dr. Mohr was absent at the time of roll call.

<u>B/C 00-192</u> Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution of Intent to Increase the 2000 Millage Rate for Parks. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed as

shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (12)

B/C 00-193 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution Regarding the Distribution of Convention Facility Tax Revenues to Counties Under Public Acts 106 and 107 of 1985. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (12)

B/C 00-194 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution Regarding the Distribution of Cigarette Tax Revenues to Counties Under Public Acts 219 and 264 of 1987. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (12)

<u>**B/C 00-195</u>** Mr. Rycenga moved to go into a Closed Session at 2:00 p.m. to discuss contract negotiations. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Mohr, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (12)</u>

<u>**B/C 00-196</u>** Mr. Rinck moved to rise from Closed Session at 3:10 p.m. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.</u>

B/C 00-197 Dr. Mohr moved to locate a new District Court and office facility at a site bordered by Pine Street, 8th Street, River Street, and 7th Street, within the City of Holland, County of Ottawa, Michigan and to authorize and direct the Ottawa County Building Authority to proceed with the preliminary planning thereof, and report back to the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners with preliminary plans and cost estimates therefore. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (12)

<u>**B/C 00-198</u>** Dr. Mohr moved to remove from the table motion B/C 00-179. Mr. Vander Kam supported the motion and the motion passed.</u>

<u>**B/C 00-199</u>** Dr. Mohr moved to amend motion B/C 00-179 to make September 13, 2000 the effective date of the transfer. Mr. Vander Kam supported the motion and the motion passed.</u>

A vote was then taken on the amended motion and the amended motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Swartout. (12)

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

<u>B/C 00-200</u> Mr. Berghorst moved to adjourn at 3:45 p.m. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chair Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners