APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SEPTEMBER SESSION - SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, September 26, 2000 at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Schrotenboer pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout (11)

Absent: Messrs. Vander Kam, Haveman (2)

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Janet Joiner, Spring Lake, addressed the Board in regards to the animal shelter.

B/C 00-201 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented and amended to change on the agenda the time of the Public Hearing to 1:30 p.m. as published. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 00-202 Mr. VanderLaan moved to open the Public Hearing. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 00-203 Mr. VanderLaan moved to close the Public Hearing. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 00-204 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

1. To approve the Minutes of September 12, 2000, and September 18, 2000, Board of Commissioners' Meetings.

2. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$6,767,628.94 as presented by the summary report for September 1 to September 15, 2000.

3. To approve the appropriation changes approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$20,000 or less for the month of 2000, which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget.

4. To authorize the payrolls of September 18, 2000, and September 26, 2000, in the amount

of \$1,183.05.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Swartout. (11)

B/C 00-205 Dr. Mohr moved to adopt a Resolution notifying the Department of Housing and Urban Development that the County of Ottawa declines designation for FY 2001 as an "Urban County" under the Community Development Assistance Act of 1974, as amended. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion.

B/C 00-206 Ms. Visscher moved to amend motion B/C 00-205 on page 2 of the Resolution in the third paragraph after Planning & Grants, "working with the Health & Human Services Committee,". Mrs. Kortman supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

A roll call vote was than taken on the amended motion and the amended motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (11)

B/C 00-207 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution to approve the 2000 Millage Rate for E-911 at .4515. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (11)

B/C 00-208 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution to approve the 2000 Millage Rate for Parks at .3245. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout. (11)

B/C 00-209 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution to approve the 2000 Millage Rate for Ottawa County Operations at 3.4505. Mr. Rinck Supported the motion.

B/C 00-210 Mr. VanderLaan moved to amend motion B/C 00-209 to change the millage on the Resolution to 3.6 the same as it is currently. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the amendment and the amendment passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter. (7)

Nays: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Swartout. (4)

A roll call vote was than taken on the amended motion and the amended motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (8) Nays: Messrs. Rycenga, Mohr, Rinck. (3)

B/C 00-211 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to establish the Ad Hoc Committee on evaluating the County Administrator with Dr. Mohr as Chair, Mrs. Kortman and Mr. Haveman on the Committee. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed.

Discussion Items

Hope Network Community Haven Update - Fred VanderLaan updated the Board that of the 28 OCCMH consumers 17 have moves completed with 11 plans finalized. Legal Counsel drafted a letter to Roxann Flieman, Executive Director of Hope Network -Community Haven, addressing transitional matters of Hope Network - Community Haven.

Frederick VanderLaan left at 3:00 p.m.

Humane Society Contract - The current contract expires December 31, 2000. Much discussion on options. Criminal Justice Committee to bring back recommendation so issue can be wrapped up by the end of the year.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

The County Administrator's Report was presented.

Public Comments

Janet Joiner, Spring Lake, addressed the Board on the North Ottawa Housing Commission and the "Urban County" designation. She asked the Board to take under consideration that the Muskegon County Animal Shelter is under daily monitoring

B/C 00-212 Dr. Mohr moved to adjourn at 3:12 p.m. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chair Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners