APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS NOVEMBER SESSION - THIRD DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, November 28, 2000 at 1:30 p.m. at the Wright Township Hall, Marne, and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mrs. Ruiter pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (11)

Absent: Ms. Visscher and Mr. Haveman. (2)

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Mr. Fred Schwallier, 16th Ave., Marne, addressed the Board regarding his application for the appointment to Road Commissioner. He also welcomed everyone to Wright Township.

B/C 00-251 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of November 14, and November 20, 2000, Board of Commissioners' Meetings.
- 2. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$8,720,561.42 as presented by the summary report for November 1 through November 17, 2000.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of November 20, and November 28, 2000, in the amount of \$1,036.60.
- 4. To accept for Information the Community Corrections Annual Report.
- 5. To accept for Information the Ottawa County Employment and Training Annual Report.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs.: Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (11)

B/C 00-252 Mr. VanderLaan moved to go into a Closed Session at 1:36 p.m. to discuss pending contract negotiations. Two thirds roll call vote required. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs.: Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter,

Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (11)

Ms. Visscher arrived at 1:40 p.m.

B/C 00-253 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to rise from Closed Session at 1:45 p.m. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 00-254 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve funding the collective bargaining agreement between the 20th Circuit Court and AFSCME, representing the Friend of the Court employees. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas. Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (12)

B/C 00-255 Mr. Rycenga moved to adopt the attached Resolution opposing Senate Bills 1418, 1419 and the Michigan Plan. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion.

B/C 00-256 Mr. VanderLaan moved to amend B/C 00-255 to change the Resolution to say "begin" legal action instead of "explore". Mr. Schrotenboer supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

A vote was then taken on B/C 00-255 as amended and passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (12)

B/C 00-257 Mr. Rycenga moved to place names of all applicants for appointment to Road Commissioner in nomination for the purpose of reducing to four (4) individuals for further consideration. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed.

The result of the first vote was as follows:

Ms. Visscher - Vander Kooi, Kolba, DeMeester

Mr. Rinck - Schwallier, Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Gavin

Mr. Vander Kam - Vander Kooi, Geerlings, Gavin, Hilbrand

Mr. Swartout - Jansma, VanderKuyl, Geerlings, Vander Zwaag

Mr. VanderLaan - Jansma, Vander Kooi, Kolba, Gavin

Mr. Schrotenboer - Vander Kooi, Kolba, Meeusen, DeMeester

Dr. Mohr - Vander Kooi, Saul, DeMeester, Hilbrand

Mr. Rycenga - Schwallier, Brown, Gavin, Hilbrand

Mr. Schipper - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Geerlings, Hilbrand

Mr. Berghorst - Vander Kooi, Saul, Geerlings, DeMeester

Mrs. Ruiter - Jansma, Kolba, Rander

Mrs. Kortman - Saul, Houting

Mr. Haveman - Vander Kooi, Saul, Kolba, DeMeester

Total votes were as follows: Schwallier - 2, Jansma - 3, Vander Kooi - 9, Vander Kuyl - 3, Saul - 4, Brown - 1, Kolba - 5, Machiela - 0, Meeusen - 1, Geerlings - 4, Houting - 1, DeMeester - 5, Gavin - 4, Hilbrand - 4, Vander Zwaag - 1, Rander - 1

The result of the second vote was as follows:

Mrs. Ruiter - Kolba

Mr. Rycenga - VanderKuyl, Saul, Gavin, Hilbrand

Mr. Schrotenboer - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Kolba, De Meester

Mr. Schipper - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Geerlings, Hilbrand

Mr. Berghorst - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Saul, Geerlings

Mr. Swartout - Jansma, Vander Kooi, Geerlings, DeMeester

Mr. VanderLaan - Jansma, Vander Kooi, Kolba, Gavin

Mr. Vander Kam - Vander Kooi, Geerlings, Gavin, Hilbrand

Mr. Rinck - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Geerlings, Gavin

Dr. Mohr - Vander Kooi, Saul, DeMeester, Hilbrand

Mrs. Kortman - Saul, DeMeester, Gavin

Ms. Visscher - Vander Kooi, Kolba, DeMeester

Total votes were as follows: Jansma - 2, Vander Kooi - 9, Vander Kuyl - 5, Saul - 4, Kolba - 4, Geerlings - 5, DeMeester - 5, Gavin - 5, Hilbrand - 4

The result of the third vote was as follows:

Mrs. Kortman - Saul, DeMeester, Gavin

Dr. Mohr - Vander Kooi, Saul, DeMeester

Ms. Visscher - Vander Kooi, Kolba, DeMeester

Mr. Vander Kam - Vander Kooi, Geerlings, Gavin

Mr. Rinck - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Gavin

Mrs. Ruiter - Saul, Kolba, DeMeester

Mr. Rycenga - VanderKuyl, Gavin, Hilbrand

Mr. Schipper - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Geerlings

Mr. VanderLaan - Vander Kooi, Kolba, Gavin

Mr. Swartout - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Geerlings

Mr. Berghorst - Vander Kooi, Kolba, DeMeester

Mr. Schrotenboer - Vander Kooi, Kolba, DeMeester

Total votes were as follows: Vander Kooi - 9, Vander Kuyl - 4, Saul - 3, Kolba - 5, Geerlings - 3, DeMeester - 6, Gavin - 5, Hilbrand - 1

The results of the fourth vote was as follows:

Mr. Berghorst - Vander Kooi, Saul, DeMeester

Mr. VanderLaan - Vander Kooi

Mr. Schipper - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Geerlings

Mr. Schrotenboer - Vander Kooi

Ms. Visscher - Vander Kooi, Kolba, DeMeester

Mr. Rycenga - VanderKuyl, Gavin

Dr. Mohr - Vander Kooi

Mr. Rinck - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl, Gavin

Mr. Vander Kam - Vander Kooi, Gavin

Mrs. Ruiter - Kolba

Mrs. Kortman - Saul, DeMeester

Mr. Swartout - Vander Kooi, Vander Kuyl

Total votes were as follows: Vander Kooi - 9, Vander Kuyl - 4, Saul - 2, Kolba - 2, Geerlings - 1, DeMeester - 3, Gavin - 3

The Chairman declared that David Vander Kooi, Donald VanderKuyl, Scott R. DeMeester and Joseph D. Gavin would be interviewed for the appointment to Road Commissioner.

Discussion Items

Community Corrections Annual Report - Dave Poel, Community Corrections Director, presented the 1999/2000 Community Corrections Annual Report. He mentioned this is the first time in his ten years that all six Prison Dispositions goals were accomplished. He reported that two part-time positions were combined into one full-time position in the Community Service Program for the Holland and Hudsonville Courts.

Mr. VanderLaan left at 2:28 p.m.

Employment and Training Annual Report - Cathy Simons, Ottawa County Michigan Works! & Community Action Agency Director, presented the 1999/2000 Annual Report. She explained the report is a summary of Michigan Works! and Community Action Agency along with highlights of each. She also reported that the M-TEC opened in August of this year. 138 students have enrolled.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

The County Administrator's Report was presented.

B/C 00-258 Mr. Rinck moved to adjourn at 2:45 p.m. subject to call the of the Chairman. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chair Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

5 of 5