APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Monday, January 3, 2000 at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Clerk.

Mr. Rinck pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schipper, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

The Clerk opened the floor for nominations for Temporary Chairman.

Mr. Schrotenboer nominated Mr. VanderLaan. Mr. Swartout supported the nomination.

B/C 00-001 Mr. Schipper moved the nominations be closed and the Clerk cast an unanimous ballot for Mr. VanderLaan. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

Mr. VanderLaan as Temporary Chairman opened the nominations for Chairman of the Board.

Mr. Rycenga nominated Mr. Swartout. Dr. Mohr supported the nomination.

<u>B/C 00-002</u> Dr. Mohr moved the nominations be closed. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

Mr. Swartout occupied the Chair and called for nominations for the office of Vice Chairman of the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Berghorst nominated Mr. VanderLaan. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the nomination.

Mr. Rinck nominated Mr. Haveman. Mr. Rycenga supported the nomination.

<u>B/C 00-003</u> Mr. VanderLaan moved the nominations be closed. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

The result of the roll call vote was as follows:

Mrs. Kortman - VanderLaan Mr. Berghorst - VanderLaan

Mrs. Ruiter - VanderLaan Mr. Schipper - VanderLaan

Mr. Swartout - Haveman Mr. Schrotenboer - VanderLaan

Mr. Rinck - Haveman Ms. Visscher - VanderLaan

Mr. Rycenga - Haveman Mr. Haveman - Haveman

Dr. Mohr - Haveman Mr. Vander Kam - Haveman

Mr. VanderLaan - VanderLaan

Total votes were as follows: Mr. VanderLaan - 7, Mr. Haveman - 6

<u>B/C 00-004</u> Mr. Haveman moved to cast an unanimous ballot for Mr. VanderLaan as Vice Chairman of the

1 of 2 6/13/2006 4:16 PM

Board of Commissioners. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed.

The Clerk administered the oath of office to the Chairman and the Vice Chairman.

The Chairman presented the committee assignments for 2000.

<u>Finance & Administration</u> - Rycenga, Chairman; Rinck, Schrotenboer, Visscher, Mohr, Vander Kam <u>Planning & Policy</u> - Mohr, Chairman; Vander Kam, Haveman, Rycenga, Berghorst, Schrotenboer <u>Health & Human Services</u> - Visscher, Chairman; Berghorst, Schipper, Ruiter, VanderLaan, Kortman <u>Criminal Justice</u> - Rinck, Chairman; Haveman, Kortman, Schipper, Ruiter, VanderLaan

<u>**B/C 00-005**</u> Dr. Mohr moved to adopt the appointments to the Standing Committees. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

The Chairman presented additional committee appointments.

<u>Community Action Agency Advisory Board</u> - Schipper <u>Mental Health Board</u> - Schipper, Berghorst, Vander Kam, VanderLaan <u>Solid Waste Planning Committee</u> - Schipper, Mohr <u>West Michigan Regional Planning Commission</u> - Berghorst <u>Ottawa County Planning Commission</u> - Vander Kam <u>Spring Lake Board</u> - Ruiter

<u>B/C 00-006</u> Mr. Rinck moved to adopt the additional committee appointments. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 00-007 Dr. Mohr moved to convene as a total unit on January 11th at 1:30 p.m. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

<u>B/C 00-008</u> Mr. Haveman moved to adjourn at 1:50 p.m. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners

2 of 2 6/13/2006 4:16 PM