APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APRIL SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, April 10, 2001 at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Ms. Visscher pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

Public Comments

Bill Smith, Emergency Management Services, invited the Board to the LEPC Public Officials Conference 2001 on Thursday, April 12th, from 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. at the Fillmore Street Complex. He also stated there were 27 applications submitted from the December snow emergency and the County would be receiving a quarter million back from the State. He invited the Commissioners to ride or walk in the Tulip Time Parade with LEPC. Contact Mr. Vander Kam if interested.

B/C 01-099 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

B/C 01-100 Mr. VanderLaan moved to amend the agenda of today adding under Appointments -County Tax Allocation Board. Ms. Visscher supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

A vote was then taken on the amended motion and the amended motion passed.

B/C 01-101 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the March 27, 2001 Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 296.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of April 10, 2001, in the amount of \$640.75.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,319,800.84 as presented by the summary report for March 19 through March 31, 2001.

1 of 3 6/8/2006 3:17 PM

Mr. Kuyers supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-102 Mr. Rycenga moved to go into a Closed Session at 1:40 p.m. to discuss contract negotiations - Two thirds roll call vote required. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-103 Mr. VanderLaan moved to rise from Closed Session at 2:05 p.m. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 01-104 Mr. Rycenga moved to fund the tentative agreement between Ottawa County, the Ottawa County Sheriff and Command Officers Association of Michigan, representing the 312-eligible Command Officers in the Sheriff's Department. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-105 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to adopt a Resolution amending the Ottawa County 911 Service Plan, and setting a public hearing thereon on Tuesday, July 10, 2001 at 2:00 p.m. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-106 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Intergovernmental Agreement for Ottawa County, Michigan Insurance Authority as revised and presented. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-107 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Bylaws for Ottawa County, Michigan Insurance Authority as revised and presented. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-108 Dr. Mohr moved to nominate Roger Cotner to the Tax Allocation Board. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed.

Discussion Items

2 of 3 6/8/2006 3:17 PM

From the Planning and Policy Committee - Silent Observer - Administration explained the three options for consideration by the County. They are: 1) Donation (which is not legal), 2) Contract for Services (is a possibility but is not recommended), and 3) Rewards System. Corporate Counsel explained how the awards system works and that the Board would authorize rewards. The maximum reward per request is \$2,000 which would come from the General Fund of the County. There are three Silent Observers used by the County at this time. They are the Tri-Cities, Kent County and Holland. Consensus of the Board is to pursue legal options for the rewards system.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 01-109 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 3:05 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

3 of 3 6/8/2006 3:17 PM