## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, May 8, 2001, at 1:30 p.m. was called to order by the Chairman.

Mrs. Kortman pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Visscher, Haveman, Kortman, Swartout. (12)

Absent: Mrs. Ruiter. (1)

## Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Beverly Jaarsma, Olive Township Clerk, questioned whether anything had been decided over her concerns with Stanton Street that she discussed at the April 24th Board Meeting. Mrs. Kortman handed out a letter to all the Commissioners from Beverly Jaarsma and said this would be discussed at a later time.

B/C 01-127 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 01-128 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the April 24, 2001, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To receive as Information the Correspondence Log 297.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of May 8, 2001, in the amount of \$590.40.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$3,326,441.56 as presented by the summary report for April 16 through April 30, 2001.
- 5. To receive for Information the Administrative Services 2000 Annual Report.

Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Haveman, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-129 Dr. Mohr moved to approve the amended Sexual Harassment Policy as

1 of 3

presented to the Board (Second Reading). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-130 Dr. Mohr moved to approve the communications site lease agreement, effective May 8, 2001. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-131 Dr. Mohr moved to go into Closed Session at 1:45 p.m. to discuss Litigation Update. Two thirds roll call vote required. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-132 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to rise from Closed Session at 2:45 p.m. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed.

Break: 2:45 p.m. - 2:50 p.m.

## **Discussion Items**

Administrative Services Annual Report - Mark Scheerhorn presented the Administrative Services Annual Report. Concerns were expressed that issues such as selling Community Haven, etc. should be discussed with all the Commissioners. It was also stated that Mark should look into space at the new District Court Building in Holland for the County Clerk's Office as the office at the Holland City Hall is not adequate.

Joseph Haveman left at 3:10 p.m.

Carve out Group Discussion - The Chair asked the Board to review as this will be coming up at the next Work Session.

The County Administrator's Report was given.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

## **Public Comments**

Beverly Jaarsma, Olive Township Clerk, asked if the Work Sessions were open to the public and was informed they are.

B/C 01-133 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 3:25 p.m. subject to the call of the

2 of 3

Chairman. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

3 of 3