APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JUNE SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, June 12, 2001, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mrs. Ruiter pronounced the invocation.

The Chairman led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (12)

Absent: Mr. Rycenga. (1)

Public Comments

Mr. Robert DeMann, Jenison/Hudsonville Area, addressed the Board on problems with Community Mental Health. CMH wages are not what they should be. Mr. DeMann would like to see some of the County's surplus used for wages. He also addressed the Board regarding the Sheriff's Department working without a contract for two years. He believes more road patrol is needed because of speed. Mr. DeMann expressed concerns at 48th Ave. and Wellington. The Chair referred Mr. DeMann to Kent Rubley at the Ottawa County Road Commission. Mr. DeMann would also like to see more Board Meetings held at the Georgetown Township Hall.

B/C 01-145 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 01-146 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve to following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the May 22, 2001 and the May 29, 2001, Board of Commissioners' Meetings.
- 2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 298.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of May 29, 2001 and June 12, 2001, in the amount of \$1,133.90.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,415,701.28 as presented by the summary report for May 14 through May 31, 2001.
- 5. To receive for information the West Michigan Enforcement Team (WEMET) 2000

1 of 3 6/8/2006 3:18 PM

Annual Report.

Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-147 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to nominate Larry Foose, Paul E. Decker, and Michael Glynn* and to select one for the position of Court Probation Officer representative on the Community Corrections Advisory Board (Two year term ending December 31, 2002) (*Recommended by Committee). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

The result of the roll call vote was as follows:

Mr. Vander Kam - Glynn Ms. Visscher - Glynn

Dr. Mohr - Glynn Mr. Haveman - Glynn

Mr. VanderLaan - Glynn Mrs. Kortman - Glynn

Mr. Berghorst - Glynn Mrs. Ruiter - Glynn

Mr. Kuyers - Glynn Mr. Rinck - Glynn

Mr. Schrotenboer - Glynn Mr. Swartout - Glynn

Total votes were as follows: Mr. Foose - 0, Mr. Decker - 0, Mr. Glynn - 12.

The Chairman declared Michael Glynn has been elected to serve as Court Probation Officer representative on the Community Corrections Advisory Board.

Discussion Items

WEMET 2000 Annual Report - Gary Rosema, Ottawa County Sheriff; Lt. John Porter, Section Commander; Lt. Dale Young, Term Leader; Inspector Dave Bush presented the WEMET 2000 Annual Report.

Commissioners were invited to a WEMET Demonstration following the Board Meeting in the EOC Room.

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 01-148 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:17 p.m. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

2 of 3

3 of 3