## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AUGUST SESSION - SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, August 28, 2001, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Dr. Mohr pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

## Presentation of Petitions and Communications

A note of thanks was read from Betty Hansen for the floral arrangement sent upon the death of her husband. The Chair so noted and accepted.

## **Public Comments**

Gary Scholten, Ottawa County Register of Deeds, reported that he opposes Senate Bill 63 and doesn't support the Resolution on today's agenda unless it would include other issues.

B/C 01-196 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-197 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the August 14, 2001 Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To authorize the payroll of August 28, 2001, in the amount of \$640.75.
- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,571,721.43 as presented by the summary report for August 1 through August 17, 2001.
- 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of July, 2001.
- 5. To approve the nomination of Richard Schurkamp as Officer Delegate (Travis Parson,

Officer Alternate Delegate), and Gail Marod as Employee Delegate (Kathy Kuck, Employee Alternate Delegate) to the MERS 55th Annual Meeting to be held September 26-28, 2001.

6. To receive for information the Ottawa County 2000/2001 Planning and Grants Annual Report.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-198 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the purchase of military service credits for James A. Albright. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher. Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-199 Mr. Haveman moved to receive the Operating Budget Policies, as amended, for review and comment (First Reading). Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-200 Mr. Haveman moved to review the Grants Policy, as amended, for review and comment (First Reading). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-201 Mr. Haveman moved to review the Financial Goals Policy, as amended, for review and comment (First Reading). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-202 Mr. Haveman moved to receive the amended Infrastructure Program Fund Policy for review and comment (First Reading). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

B/C 01-203 Dr. Mohr moved to amend the Infrastructure Program Fund Policy to remove the revolving loan section. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion failed.

The results of the roll call vote were:

Yeas: Dr. Mohr, Mr. VanderLaan. (2)

Nays: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (11)

A vote was than taken on motion B/C 01-202 and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, Vander Laan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-204 Mr. Haveman moved to approve the Resolution opposing SB No. 63 in its current form. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

B/C 01-205 Ms. Visscher moved to table motion B/C 01-204. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion failed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Mohr, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Rycenga. (4)

Nays: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Vander Kam, Swartout. (9)

A vote was than taken on motion B/C 01-204 and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-206 Mr. Haveman moved to approve, at the request of the Drain Commissioner, a not-to-exceed \$15,000 expenditure for Ottawa County's share of local match for a 319 Grant to develop a Lower Grand River Watershed Management Plan. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-207 Mr. Haveman moved to approve a Resolution authorizing conditional involvement in statewide litigation against the State of Michigan, Department of Community Health, regarding the Mental Health Contract. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Messrs. Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga. Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Swartout. (13)

A break was taken from 2:50 p.m. until 2:56 p.m.

## **Discussion Items**

Mark Knudsen, Planning and Grants Director, presented the 2000/2001 Planning and Grants Annual Report.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 01-208 Mr. Berghorst moved to adjourn at 3:20 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners