## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONS SEPTEMBER SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, September 11, 2001, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Rinck pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (12)

Absent: Ms. Visscher

## Presentation of Petitions and Communications

A note of thanks was read from Jack and Cheryl Van Eerden for the floral arrangement sent upon the death of their son, Justin. The Chair so noted and accepted.

B/C 01-209 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 01-210 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the August 28, 2001, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 301.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of September 11, 2001, in the amount of \$591.78.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,769,601.72 as presented by the summary report for August 20 through August 31, 2001.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Vander Laan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-211 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution for the Municipal Landfill Cost-Share Grant Agreement in the amount of \$76,085. Mr. Haveman supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-212 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution of Intent to Increase 2001 Millage Rate for Ottawa County. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-213 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution of Intent to Increase 2001 Millage Rate for E-911. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-214 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution of Intent to Increase 2001 Millage Rate for Parks. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-215 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution Regarding the Distribution of Convention Facility Tax Revenues to Counties Under Public Acts 106 and 107 of 1985. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-216 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution Regarding the Distribution of Cigarette Tax Revenues to Counties Under Public Acts 219 and 264 of 1987. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-217 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the recommendation of the Ottawa County Health and Human Services Committee to increase the fees for vaccines and listed health services. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-218 Dr. Mohr moved to adopt the Operating Budget Policies, as amended, (Second Reading). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

B/C 01-219 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to table motion B/C 01-218 until reviewed by the Finance Committee. Mr. Haveman supported motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schrotenboer, Haveman. (8)

Nays: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, Kuyers, Swartout. (4)

B/C 01-220 Dr. Mohr moved to adopt the Grants Policy, as amended, (Second Reading). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

B/C 01-221 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to table motion B/C 01-220 until reviewed by the Finance Committee. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion failed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman. (6)

Nays: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Kuyers, Haveman. (6)

B/C 01-222 Dr. Mohr moved to amend motion B/C 01-220 to change the Grants Policy by deleting "upon" and inserting "before" expiration of grant funding. Mr. VanderLaan supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

A vote was than taken on the amended motion and the amended motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (11)

Nays: Mr. Schrotenboer. (1)

B/C 01-223 Dr. Mohr moved to adopt the Financial Goals Policy, as amended, (Second Reading). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

B/C 01-224 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to table motion B/C 01-223 until reviewed by the Finance Committee. Mr. Haveman supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter. (8)

Nays: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, Rinck, Swartout. (4)

B/C 01-225 Dr. Mohr moved to adopt the Infrastructure Program Fund Policy, as amended, (Second Reading). Mr. Rycenga supported the motion.

B/C 01-226 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to table motion B/C 01-225 until reviewed by the Finance Committee. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion failed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Schrotenboer. (2)

Nays: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (10)

A vote was than taken on the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck,

Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (8)

Nays: Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer. (4)

B/C 01-227 Dr. Mohr moved to go into Closed Session at 2:20 p.m. to discuss Litigation. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (12)

B/C 01-228 Dr. Mohr moved to rise from Closed Session at 2:50 p.m. Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

## **Public Comments**

William Smith, Emergency Management Director, handed out pamphlets on the Community Awareness and Emergency Response.

B/C 01-229 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:55 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners