APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OCTOBER SESSION - THIRD DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, October 23, 2001, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Haveman pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

Presentation of Petitions & Communications

Mr. Swartout presented Connie Vander Schaaf, Finance Department, with the GFOA Distinguished Budget Award.

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Mark Scheerhorn introduced Ken Kaiser the new GIS Director.

B/C 01-264 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 01-265 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the October 9, 2001 and October 15, 2001 Board of Commissioners' Meetings and to correct B/C 01-261 to change "Board" to "Budget".
- 2. To authorize the payroll of October 15, and October 23, 2001, in the amount of \$1,135.99.
- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$1,660,417.41 as presented by the summary report for October 1 through October 12, 2001.
- 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of September 2001.
- 5. To receive for information the Ottawa County Michigan Insurance Authority Budget for fiscal year 2002.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Haveman, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-266 Dr. Mohr moved to adopt the Resolution amending the Articles of Incorporation of the Grand Valley Metro Council to add Allendale Township as a Member. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-267 Dr. Mohr moved to adopt the Resolution amending the Articles of Incorporation of the Grand Valley Metro Council to remove City of Plainwell as a Member. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-268 Mr. Mohr moved to adopt the Resolution to amend the Ottawa County Solid Waste Management Plan to reclassify the Holland BPW Landfill from a Type II to a Type III facility in the Ottawa County Solid Waste Management Plan. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-269 Mr. VanderLaan moved to open the Public Hearing at 1:45 p.m. - Ottawa County 2002 Budget. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-270 Mr. VanderLaan moved to close the Public Hearing at 1:47 p.m. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-271 Dr. Mohr moved to adopt the Resolution opposing cuts and transfers in State Transportation funding that would adversely affect Ottawa County. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-272 Dr. Mohr moved to adopt the Resolution opposing cuts and transfers in State Critical Bridge Funding. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-273 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the 2001 Apportionment Report. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-274 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the 2002 Budget Resolution and 2002 Budget. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

B/C 01-275 Mr. Kuyers moved to amend Motion B/C 01-274 to change the Planning Specialist position to a pending position in the 2002 Budget. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the amendment and the amendment passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer. (8)

Nays: Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Haveman, Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (5)

B/C 01-276 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to amend Motion B/C 01-274 to adjust and move from pending to active status the .6 FTE Records Processing Clerk II for the County Clerk's Office (3 days per week at the Holland James St. location). Ms. Visscher supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

A vote was than taken on the motion as amended and the amended motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-277 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to appoint Dennis Swartout, Joseph Haveman and Roger Rycenga to the Administrator's Evaluation Committee. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed.

Discussion Items

MDOT Funding Commitment for M-104 Study - Kent Rubley, Ottawa County Road Commission, explained to the Board that the Road Commission cannot legally participate in the M-104 Study but that they are in support of it.

Several Commissioners gave report's on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

Public Comments

William Smith, Emergency Management Director, encouraged the Commissioners to attend the Public Officials Conference.

Daniel Krueger, County Clerk, invited the Commissioners to attend demonstrations on new software for Board Minutes.

B/C 01-278 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:10 p.m. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners