APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS NOVEMBER SESSION - SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, November 27, 2001, at 1:30 p.m. and called to order by the Chairman.

Mrs. Ruiter pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (11)

Absent: Mr. Vander Kam, Ms. Visscher. (2)

B/C 01-286 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 01-287 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

1. To approve the Minutes of the November 13, 2001, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.

2. To authorize the payroll of November 27, 2001, in the amount of \$542.81.

3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,418,752.51 as presented by the summary report for November 1 through November 16, 2001.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (11)

B/C 01-288 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve a Resolution and Application for Ottawa County Community Action Agency for Home Purchase and Repair Funds in the amount of \$450,000 from Michigan State Housing Authority's Housing Resource Fund. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Swartout. (11)

B/C 01-289 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve a Resolution and Application for Community Development Block Grant Funds in the amount of \$225,000 from Michigan State Housing Authority's HOME Funds. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer,

Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Swartout. (11)

B/C 01-290 Mr. Berghorst moved to place into nomination and to appoint Steven Vandenberg and Connie Steenwyk t fill two vacancies on the Community Action Agency Advisory Board representing the Private Sector for two year terms beginning 10-01-01 and ending 10-01-03. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Swartout. (11)

Work Session Discussion Items

Update on the Holland District Court Building Project - Mark Scheerhorn, Administrative Services Director, went over the new site plans for the Holland District Court. The project will be delayed approximately 12 months. The new plan gives the county about twice the amount of parking. Consensus of the Board was for Mark to go ahead and amend the agreement.

Discussion on Future Public Improvement Projects - Mark Scheerhorn reviewed the Capital Improvements Spreadsheet with the Board. Rosemary Zink, Finance Director, explained the financing tools. Mark was questioned why the Grand Haven project was so far off in the future. He stated the Fillmore Jail needed to be done before the Grand Haven project could be started. The Chair asked for Mark to look at dollars and funding options if the Grand Haven project was moved up to 2003 and present it back to the Board.

Technology Task Force - Bob Oosterbaan explained what the Technology Task Force is. Jim Mankoski, MIS Director, explained briefly what his department is doing to keep the County up-to-date. Referred to the Planning and Policy Committee.

B/C 01-291 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:50 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners