APPPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 2, 2001 at 1:00 p.m. and was called to order by the Clerk.

Mrs. Kortman pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter and Mr. Swartout. (13)

The Clerk introduced Pam Kuyers; Gary Rosema, Sheriff; Mary Richardson, Treasurer; Paul Geerlings, Drain Commissioner.

The Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Commissioners.

The Clerk opened the floor for nominations for Temporary Chairman.

Mr. Swartout nominated Mr. Rycenga. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the nomination.

B/C 01-001 Ms. Visscher moved the nominations be closed and the Clerk cast an unanimous ballot for Mr. Rycenga. Mr. Vander Kam supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 01-002 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to amend the agenda of today adding "Resolution to establish a one (1) year term for the position of Ottawa County Board Chairperson" between "Elect Temporary Chairperson" and "Elect Chairperson" (2/3 Vote Required). Mr. Rinck supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

B/C 01-003 Mr. Rinck moved to adopt the Resolution setting a one (1) year term for the position of Ottawa County Board Chairperson. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion.

B/C 01-004 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to end debate on B/C 01-003. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

A vote was then taken on B/C 001-003 and passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Vander Laan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (13)

1 of 3 6/8/2006 4:26 PM

Mr. Rycenga as Temporary Chairman opened the nominations for Chairman of the Board.

Mr. VanderLaan nominated Mr. Swartout. Ms. Visscher supported the nomination.

B/C 01-005 Mr. Berghorst moved the nominations be closed and cast an unanimous ballot for Mr. Swartout. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed.

Mr. Swartout occupied the Chair and called for nominations for the office of Vice Chairman of the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Berghorst nominated Mr. VanderLaan. Mrs. Ruiter supported the nomination.

B/C 01-006 Mr. Schrotenboer moved the nominations be closed and cast an unanimous ballot for Mr. VanderLaan. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

The Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Chairman and the Vice Chairman.

The Chairman presented the committee assignments for 2001.

<u>Finance & Administration</u> - Rycenga, Chairperson; Rinck, Schrotenboer, VanderLaan, Mohr, Vander Kam

Planning & Policy - Mohr, Chairperson; Visscher, Haveman, Rycenga, Berghorst, Kuyers

<u>Health & Human Services</u> - Visscher, Chairperson; Berghorst, Haveman, Ruiter, VanderLaan, Kortman

<u>Criminal Justice</u> - Schrotenboer, Chairperson; Kuyers, Kortman, Vander Kam, Ruiter, Rinck

B/C 01-007 Mr. Berghorst moved to adopt the appointments to the Standing Committees. Mr. Haveman supported the motion and the motion passed.

The Chairman presented additional committee appointments.

<u>Lakeshore Coordinating Council</u> - Berghorst, VanderLaan

West Michigan Regional Planning - Berghorst

LEPC Local Emergency Planning Commission - Vander Kam

Ottawa Co. Economic Development Office Brd. - Rycenga, Kuyers

Food Services Appeals Board - VanderLaan

Remonumentation Committee - Rinck

Drain Board - Swartout, Rycenga

Community Corrections Advisory Board - Kortman

Ottawa County Planning Commission - Rinck

<u>Mental Health Board</u> - VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kortman, Ruiter

2 of 3 6/8/2006 4:26 PM

Human Society Board - Mary Richardson

Solid Waste Planning Committee - Vander Kam

Region 8 Planning Committee/Metro Council - Rinck, Kuyers

Human Services Coordinating Council - Visscher

MAAC Steering Committee - Haveman

Ottawa County Insurance Authority - Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Swartout

B/C 01-008 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to adopt the additional committee appointments. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 01-009 Mr. Rinck moved to waive the readings and approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- A. To adopt Resolution Regarding Deposit of Road Commission Funds.
- B. To adopt Resolution Regarding Deposit of Drainage Funds.
- C. To adopt Resolution Regarding Deposit of Public Monies.
- D. To adopt Resolution Regarding Investment of Surplus Funds.
- E. To adopt Resolution Regarding Tax Credits for Certain Qualified Persons.
- F. To adopt Resolution Establishing Depositories of Public Monies.
- G. To adopt Resolution Regarding Indemnification.

Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Haveman, Swartout. (13)

B/C 01-010 Mr. Rinck moved to adjourn at 1:32 p.m. subject to the call of the Chairman. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

3 of 3