APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JANUARY SESSION - SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 8, 2002, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Swartout pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-005 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to amend the agenda of today as presented adding to Consent Resolutions #5 the amount of \$2,865,628.30 and to make Action Item #12 - 2002 Board Rules and #13 - Board Appointments. Mr. VanderLaan supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

B/C 02-006 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda as amended. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 02-007 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the December 11, 2001, and January 2, 2002, Board of Commissioners' Meetings.
- 2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 305.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of January 2, 2002 and January 8, 2002 in the amount of \$1,295.50.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,299,393.58 as presented by the summary report for December 1 through December 14, 2001.
- 5. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,865,628.30 as presented by the summary report for December 17 through December 31, 2001.
- 6. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of November 2001.

1 of 3 6/6/2006 3:22 PM

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-008 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Transportation Planning Specialist Position. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (12)

Nays: Mr. Kuyers. (1)

B/C 02-009 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve an exception to the Accounts Receivable Policy for Community Corrections. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-010 Dr. Mohr moved to approve application to the Michigan Coastal Management Program for a \$500,000 grant from the Great Lakes Coastal Restoration program for the Upper Macatawa Conservation Project with a 25% local match from the county parks millage. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-011 Dr. Mohr moved to extend the option agreements with Michael Geerlings and Brian Geerlings for six (6) months in accordance with option terms at a cost of \$25,000 with funding from the county parks millage. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-012 Dr. Mohr moved to approve the "West Michigan Enforcement Team Agreement" between and among Allegan County, Muskegon County, Ottawa County, and the Michigan State Police. Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-013 Dr. Mohr moved to approve and adopt the Board Rules as revised for 2002. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

2 of 3 6/6/2006 3:22 PM

B/C 02-014 Dr. Mohr moved to amend motion B/C 02-013 to change Section 2.0 - Meetings of the Board of Commissioners to the following: "The Board shall meet on the second Tuesday of each month at 1:30 p.m. and the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. Mr. Haveman supported the amendment and the amendment passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Mohr, Kuyers, Swartout. (7)

Nays: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Schrotenboer. (6)

A vote was than taken on the motion as amended and amended motion passed as shown by the following votes: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (12)

The Administrator's report was given.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

Public Comments

Jim Beelen, Allendale Township Supervisor, thanked the Board for approving the Transportation Planning Specialist Position and informed the Board that concerns have been resolved over the letter regarding the Central Dispatch Authority.

B/C 02-015 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:25 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Vander Kam supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, CHAIR Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

3 of 3 6/6/2006 3:22 PM