APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FEBRUARY SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Thursday, February 14, 2002, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Rycenga pronounced the invocation.

The Chair led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (11)

Absent: Messrs. Mohr and Berghorst. (2)

Presentation of Petitions and Commissioners

A note of thanks was read from the Jim Lutz family for the floral arrangement sent upon the death of their husband and father.

Mr. Swartout presented Connie Vander Schaaf, Finance Department, with the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting.

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Chuck Pistis, MSU Extension Director, introduced Dr. Carlos Garcia Salazar, Blueberry/Small Fruit Agent, to the Board.

B/C 02-032 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 02-033 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the minutes of the January 22, 2002, and January 28, 2002, Board of Commissioners' Meetings.
- 2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 306.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of January 28, 2002 and February 14, 2002 in the amount of \$1,146.30.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,938,003.17 as presented by the summary report for January 14 through January 31, 2002.

1 of 3 6/6/2006 3:23 PM

5. To receive for information the Community Mental Health of Ottawa County Annual Report FY 2000/2001.

Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Haveman, Swartout. (11)

B/C 02-034 Mr. Haveman moved to adopt the amended Per Diem, Expense, and Mileage Policy as presented to the Board. (Second reading). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout. (11)

B/C 02-035 Mr. Haveman moved to place into nomination the names of Mark Oppenhuizen*, Andrew DeVries*, Doug Bazuin and Roberta Sabine to fill two (2) three year terms on the Parks and Recreation Commission beginning January 1, 2002 and expiring January 1, 2005. *Recommended by Committee. Mr. Rinck supported the motion.

Results of the roll call vote:

Mr. Rinck - Oppenhuizen, DeVries Ms. Visscher - Oppenhuizen, DeVries

Mr. Rycenga - Oppenhuizen, DeVries Mr. Haveman - Bazuin, Sabine

Mr. Vander Kam - Oppenhuizen, DeVries Mrs. Kortman - Oppenhuizen, DeVries

Mr. VanderLaan - Oppenhuizen, DeVries Mrs. Ruiter - Oppenhuizen, DeVries

Mr. Kuyers - Oppenhuizen, DeVries Mr. Swartout - Oppenhuizen, DeVries

Mr. Schrotenboer - Oppenhuizen, DeVries

The chair declared Mark Oppenhuizen and Andrew DeVries appointed to the Parks and Recreation Commission.

B/C 02-036 Mr. Haveman moved to approve the re-appointment of Randy Feenstra, Bill Wiersma, Greg Vaughn, and Randall Schipper to the Remonumention Committee, each for a term of two (2) years to expire in January 2003. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (11)

B/C 02-037 Mr. Haveman moved to place into nomination Betty Gajewski* and K. Greg Murray, and appoint one for the filling of one vacancy representing Environmental on the Ottawa County Planning Commission for a term of three years to begin on January 1, 2002 and expire January 1, 2005. Recommended by Committee. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion.

2 of 3 6/6/2006 3:23 PM

Result of the roll call votes:

Mr. Vander Kam - Gajewski Mrs. Kortman - Gajewski

Mr. VanderLaan - Gajewski Mrs. Ruiter - Gajewski

Mr. Kuyers - Gajewski Mr. Rinck - Gajewski

Mr. Schrotenboer - Gajewski Mr. Rycenga - Gajewski

Ms. Visscher - Gajewski Mr. Swartout - Gajewski

Mr. Haveman - Murray

The chair declared Betty Gajewski appointed to the Ottawa County Planning Commission representing Environmental for a three year term.

B/C 02-038 Mr. Haveman moved to place into nomination and appoint James Miedema for filling one vacancy representing Financial/Sociological/Academic on the Ottawa County Planning Commission for a term of three years to begin on January 1, 2002 and to expire on January 1, 2005. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (11)

Discussion Items

Gerry Cyranowski, CMH Executive Director, presented the Community Mental Health of Ottawa County 2000/2001 Annual Report.

The County Administrator's Report was presented.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 02-039 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:05 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

3 of 3 6/6/2006 3:23 PM