## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APRIL SESSION - SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, April 23, 2002, at 7:00 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mr. Haveman pronounced the invocation.

The Chairman led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

BC 02-089 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion.

BC 02- 090 Mr. Vander Laan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

1. To approve the minutes of the April 9, and April 15, 2002 Board of Commissioners' Meetings.

2. To authorize the payroll of April 15, 2002, and April 23, 2002, in the amount of 1243.09

3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$9,230,503.29 as presented by the summary report for April 1 through April 12, 2002.

4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of March 2002.

5. To receive for Information the Ottawa County Human Resources Annual Report for Year 2001.

6. To receive the Information the Ottawa County Parks and Recreation Commission's 2001 Annual Report.

7. To receive for Information the Ottawa County Drain Commission's Office 2001 Annual Report.

8. To receive for Information the Ottawa County Register of Deeds' 2001 Annual Report.

9. To receive for Information the Ottawa County Sheriff Department's 2001 Annual Report.

10. To receive for information the Ottawa County Domestic Violence Evaluation for Ottawa County.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Swartout. (13)

BC 02-091 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution authorizing the County Road Commission to issue Act 342 Bonds in the amount of \$1,150,000 to finance the 2002 Sewer Improvements Project. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (13)

BC 02-092 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution authorizing the County Road Commission to issue Act 342 Bonds in the amount of \$795,000 to finance the 2002 Wastewater Treatment Plant Expansion. Mr. Vander Laan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Swartout. (13)

BC 02-093 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the 2002 Equalization Report and appoint the Equalization Director to represent Ottawa County at State Equalization hearings. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Swartout. (13)

BC 02- 094 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve mileage reimbursement at the IRS rate to County Road Commissioners for regular meeting attendance. Mr. Rinck supported the motion.

BC 02-095 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to amend motion BC 02-094 to read to approve mileage reimbursement at the IRS rate to County Road Commissioners for "attendance at regular and special meetings." Mr. Rycenga supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

A vote was then taken on the motion and the amended motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs.

Kortman, Swartout. (13)

BC 02-096 Mr. Rycenga moved to recommend that the Tax Allocation remain at 4.44 for the County and go for one year. Mr. Vander Laan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Swartout. (13)

## **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

Rich Schurkamp presented the Ottawa County Human Resources' Annual Report.

John Scholtz presented the Ottawa County Parks and Recreation Commission's Annual Report.

Paul Geerlings and Linda Brown presented the Ottawa County Drain Commissioner's Annual Report.

Gary Scholten presented the Ottawa County Register of Deed's Annual Report.

Gary Rosema presented the Ottawa County Sheriff Department's Annual Report.

Mark Knudsen presented the Domestic Violence Evaluation.

Several commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

BC 02-097 Mr. Vander Laan moved to adjourn at 8:45 p.m. subject to call of the Chair. Mr. Vander Kam supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners