APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, May 14, 2002, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mrs. Kortman pronounced the invocation.

The Chairman led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (12)

Absent: Ms. Visscher

BC 02-098 Mr. Vander Laan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion.

BC 02- 099 Mr. Vander Laan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

1. To approve the minutes of the April 23, 2002 Board of Commissioners' Meetings.

2. To receive as Information the Correspondence Log 309.

3. To authorize the payroll of May 14, 2002, in the amount of \$ 598.26.

4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$3,374,674.94 as presented by the summary report for April 15 through 30, 2002.

5. To concur with the 58th District Court appointments of 58th District Court Magistrates George Stewart Hicks, Barbara Forman, and Glenn Yoas.

6. To adopt the resolution supporting location of the Federal nuclear waste storage site at Yucca Mountain, Nevada.

7. To approve a Resolution as recommended by the Ottawa County Planning Commission designating the week of May 13-17, 2002 as "National Bike-to-Work Week" and May 17, 2002 as "National Bike-to-Work Day" within Ottawa County.

Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (12) BC 02-100 Mr. Haveman moved to approve and authorize the Board Chair and Clerk to sign the lease agreement for the Rosy Mound property between the County of Ottawa and the State of Michigan. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (12)

BC 02-101 Mr. Haveman moved to approve the Resolution to amend the Articles of Incorporation to the Grand Valley Metro Council to add Cascade Township as a member. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout.(12)

BC 02-102 Mr. Haveman moved to go into Closed Session to discuss pending property matters - Two thirds roll call vote required. Mr. Rinck supported the motion.

BC 02-103 Mr. Rinck moved to postpone the motion to go into Closed Session to a new date can be set by the committee. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

BC 02-104 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adopt and implement the Rye Study of Unclassified Employees with the provision that the Personnel Committee reserves the right to make additional recommendations to the Board regarding compensation. Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion.

BC 02-105 Mr. Vander Laan moved to amend motion BC 02-104 to strike everything after the word employees. The amended motion would then read "to adopt and implement the Rye Study of Unclassified Employees". Mr. Rinck supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

A vote was then taken on the motion and the amended motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (11) Nays: Mr. Schrotenboer (1)

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Charamy Butterworth, Project Manager, gave a presentation update on the Watershed Project.

Mr. Oosterbaan, County Administrator, gave his report to the Board of Commissioners.

Several commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

BC 02-106 Mr. Vander Laan moved to adjourn at 2:33 p.m. subject to call of the Chair. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners