APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JUNE SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, June 11, 2002, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chairman.

Mrs. Ruiter pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-111 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 02-112 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the May 28, 2002, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 310.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of June 11, 2002, in the amount of \$647.75.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$1,667,265.80 as presented by the summary report for May 20 through May 31, 2002.
- 5. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of April, 2002.

Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Vander Laan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-113 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve Budget Adjustment #362 with \$64,714 to come from contingency. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (13)

1 of 4 6/6/2006 3:26 PM

B/C 02-114 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution to issue and sell bonds aggregating the principal sum of not to exceed six million five hundred thousand dollars (\$6,500,000) pursuant to the provisions of Part VI of Act No. 342, Act. 34 for the purpose of partially refunding the 1992 Wyoming Water Plant Improvements Bonds (Refunded 1998 Issue). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-115 M. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution to issue and sell bonds aggregating the principle sum of not to exceed four million four hundred thousand dollars (\$4,400,000) pursuant to the provisions of Part VI of Act No. 342, Act 34 for the purpose of partially refunding all or part of the 1992 Northwest Ottawa Water Plant Improvements Bonds (Refunded 1986 and 1984 Issues). Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Haveman, Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-116 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution adopting the Health Department fee adjustments:

- A. Increase the Adult Health Screening Fee from \$10 to \$15
- B. Add Twinrix Vaccine Fee: \$46
- C. Add Vending Machines Fee: \$30
- D. Add Food Service Establishment Fee: \$50
- E. Add Formal Food Service Conference Fee: \$100
- F. Add Irrigation Well Permit Fee: \$20
- G. Add Hepa Vacuum Rental Fee: \$10 per day

Note: Temporary License Fee for Late Applications and the Nonprofit Food Service License Fee were tabled at the May 9, 2002 Health and Human Services Committee Meeting.

Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-117 Mr. Rycenga moved to concur with the final order of the Tax Allocation Board as follows:

County of Ottawa County 4.440 mills Intermediate School District .122 Townships <u>1.051</u>

5.613 mills

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following

2 of 4 6/6/2006 3:26 PM

votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-118 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the resolution authorizing the County Administrator to file with the Michigan Department of Treasury a qualifying statement required by Act 34, Public Acts of Michigan, 2001 to issue bonds. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-119 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the following transfers from the 12/31/01 General Fund Fund Balance:

Landfill Cleanup Fund \$1,650,000 Public Improvement Fund \$2,650,000 Balance to Infrastructure Fund -Loan Revolving Portion \$1,066,934

Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Vander Laan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (12)

Nays: Dr. Mohr. (1)

B/C 02-120 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the transfer of \$191,407.96 from the project portion of the Infrastructure Fund to loan revolving portion. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Swartout. (10)

Nays: Messrs. Mohr, VanderLaan, Haveman. (3)

B/C 02-121 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Resolution to amend the GIS Fee Schedule. Mr. Vander Kam supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, Swartout. (13)

B/C 02-122 Mr. Rycenga moved to go into a Closed Session at 2:05 p.m. to discuss negotiation strategies - Two third roll call vote required. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mohr, VanderLaan, Swartout. (13)

3 of 4 6/6/2006 3:26 PM

B/C 02-123 Mr. VanderLaan moved to rise from Closed Session at 3:02 p.m. Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 02-124 Ms. Visscher moved to nominate and appoint Dennis Swartout to serve on the negotiation team with the staff, including per diem and mileage, and Frederick VanderLaan to serve as the alternative. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

The County Administator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 02-125 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 3:10 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Vander Kam supported the motion and the motion passed.

4 of 4 6/2006 3:26 PM