## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JULY SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, July 09, 2002, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Vice-Chairman.

Mr. Kuyers pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, VanderLaan. (11)

Absent: Messrs. Mohr, Swartout (2)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

Mr. VanderLaan read a thank-you letter from various members of the Rolling Thunder Chapter #4 organization.

BC 02-136 Mr. Berghorst moved to accept the letter for information. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

BC 02- 137 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Rinck supported the motion.

BC 02-138 Mr. Vander Kam moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

1. To approve the Minutes of the June 25, 2002 Board of Commissioners' Meetings.

2. To receive as Information the Correspondence Log 311.

3. To authorize the payroll of July 09, 2002 in the amount of \$ 545.85

4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$1,411,935.67 as presented by the summary report for June 17 through June 30, 2002.

5. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of May, 2002.

6. To receive as information the Ottawa County Drain Commissioner's Annual Financial Statements for the year ended December 31, 2001.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, VanderLaan. (11)

BC 02-139 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Management Information Services Billing Rate Study for 2003 for implementation in the 2003 budget. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. VanderLaan (11)

BC 02- 140 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the 2001 Cost Allocation Plan for implementation in the 2003 budget. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. VanderLaan. (11)

BC 02-141 Mr. Haveman moved to extend the option agreements with Michael Geerlings and Brian Geerlings for three (3) months in accordance with option terms at a cost of \$12,500.00 with funding from county parks millage. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Haveman, VanderLaan. (11)

BC 02-142 Mr. Rycenga moved to go into Closed Session at 1:41 p.m. to discuss pending property matters - Two thirds roll call vote required. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. VanderLaan. (11)

BC 02-143 Mr. Berghorst moved to rise from Closed Session at 1:55 p.m. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

BC 02-144 Mr. Haveman moved to approve the agreement for purchase of 2.45 acres with house and other structures located at 10393 Adams Street in Holland Township from Larry and Priscilla Blackburn for \$151,000 with funding from FEMA and the Parks millage (25%) and authorize the Parks Manager to execute the closing documents. Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. VanderLaan. (11)

BC 02-145 Mr. Berghorst moved to place into nomination and to appoint Daryl Tammen and Donald Williams to fill two of the three vacancies representing the private sector on the Environmental Health Code Board of Appeals. Both vacancies represent three year terms beginning January 1, 2002 and ending December 31, 2004. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, VanderLaan. (11)

Mr. Oosterbaan, County Administrator, gave a brief report.

Several commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

BC 02-146 Mr. Rycenga moved to adjourn at 2:30 p.m. subject to call of the Vice-Chair. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners