## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AUGUST SESSION - FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, August 13, 2002, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Dr. Mohr pronounced the invocation.

The Chair led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (11)

Absent: Messrs. Vander Kam, VanderLaan. (2)

B/C 02-152 Mr. Rinck moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 02-153 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the July 23, 2002, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 312.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of August 13, 2002, in the amount of \$543.66.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$3,839,441.34 as presented by the summary report for July 15 through July 31, 2002.
- Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Berghorst, Swartout. (11)
- B/C 02-154 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the resolution for the Municipal Landfill Cost-Share Grant Agreement in the amount of \$78,301. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Swartout. (11)
- B/C 02-155 Mr. Haveman moved to adopt the Revised Soil Erosion and Sedimentation Ordinance. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (11)
- B/C 02-156 Mr. Haveman moved to approve the resolution of support for the Pledge of Allegiance. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (11)
- B/C 02-157 Mr. Haveman moved to adopt the Model Food Program Enforcement Procedures. Dr. Mohr supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Mrs.

Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Haveman, Swartout. (11)

B/C 02-158 Mr. Haveman moved to approve the following individuals for attendance at the Annual MERS Meeting on September 18, 19 and 20, 2002:

Officer Delegate: Richard Schurkamp Officer Alternate: Travis Parsons Employee Delegate: Gail Marod

Employee Alternate: Beverly Plagenhoef

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas:

Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr.

Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout. (11)

B/C 02-159 Mr. Haveman moved to declare one vacancy on the Ottawa County Jury Board and to place into nomination and to appoint Paul Boyce to fill one unexpired vacancy on the Ottawa County Jury Board with term ending April 30, 2005. (Replacing June Storm) Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (11)

B/C 02-160 Mr. Haveman moved to accept the resignations of the following persons from the Ottawa County LEPC Board:

Paul Shemanski - International Assoc. of Machinists & Aerospace Workers

Lt. Larry Beld - Ottawa County Sheriff's Department

Becky Vargo - Grand Haven Tribune

Dick Davis - Zeeland Chemicals

Bill Lamain - Ottawa County Health Department

Les Toth - Ottawa County Health Department

Chief Jerry Paauwe - Georgetown Township Fire Department

Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs.

Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (11)

B/C 02-161 Mr. Haveman moved to recommend the appointments of the following persons to the Ottawa County LEPC Board for an indeterminate term:

Sgt. Lee Hoeksema - Ottawa County Sheriff's Department

Lt. Greg Steigenga - Ottawa County Sheriff's Department

George Keefe - Mirant Zeeland, LLC

Jim Szejda - Ottawa County Health Department

Darwin Baas - Ottawa County Health Department

Dr. Paul Heidel - Ottawa County Health Department

Eric Klingensmith - Grand Valley State University

Lewis Wiedewitsch - Private Citizen

Pete Jazdzyk - International Assoc. of Machinists & Aerospace Workers

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas:

Messrs. Mohr, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Haveman, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs.

Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (11)

## **Discussion Items**

Review of the 2003 Personnel and Equipment Requests:

Jim Mankoski, MIS Director, gave an overview of the 2003 computer equipment requests. He is recommending \$234,453 of new computer equipment for 2003.

Mark Scheerhorn, Administrative Services Director, gave an overview of the 2003 equipment (non-computer related) requests and recommendations. He explained he received 175 separate requests for equipment totaling \$1,967,516 and he is recommending a total of \$939,501.

Rich Schurkamp, Human Resources Director, gave an overview of the 2003 personnel requests. There were requests for 16 full-time employees and he is recommending 11 new positions. He also went over position reclassifications, new temporary positions and increase in hours.

The Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 02-162 Mr. Rinck moved to adjourn at 3:05 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chair Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners