APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JANUARY SESSION - THIRD MEETING

	The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 28, 2003, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.		
	Mr. Kuyers pronounced the invocation. The Chair led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.		
	Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. VanderLaan, Vander Kam. (9)		
	Absent: Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst. (2) Presentation of Petitions and Communications		
	Mr. Swartout read a letter from Ryan Cotton, Spring Lake Village Manager, stating they are looking at amending their Tax Increment Financing Plan. If any member of the Board would like to meet with the Village Council concerning this, please contact him.		
B/C 03-032	Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.		
B/C 03-033	Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:		
2, 0 00 000	1. To approve the Minutes of the January 14 and January 20, 2003, Board of Commissioners' Meetings.		
	2. To authorize the payroll of January 20 and January 28, 2003, in the amount of \$885.60.		
	3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,161,497.23 as presented by the summary report for January 1 through January 17, 2003.		
	4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of December 2002.		
	Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Kuyers, VanderLaan, Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-034	Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the per diem and mileage for the Board members of the special committee on Technology. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Vander Kam, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Kuyers, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-035	Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the funding of \$15,000 toward a feasibility study on a Biomass Energy Conversion Project for potential pollution control. Funding to come from contingency account and is contingent upon obtaining remaining \$15,000 grant match requirement. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, VanderLaan, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Rycenga, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (9) Michigan Association of Counties		
	Tim McGuire, Executive Director of Michigan Association of Counties, updated the Board that a week ago the Michigan Association of County Services reached a settlement with Great West and that each and every Ottawa participant will be made whole for any investment loses in that time. Employees will		

and every Ottawa participant will be made whole for any investment loses in that time. Employees will be receiving a check within the next couple of weeks based upon the settlement agreement in the tune of \$96,000 that is going to be spread out for the employees of Ottawa County. Mr. McGuire thanked the Board and the employees for their patience and for the work Mike Doyle did.

	Mr. McGuire is looking forward to the MAC Conference in February with the new administration.		
	Governor Jennifer Granholm will provide the opening remarks on Monday morning. Michael Cox,		
	Attorney General, is going to be the luncheon speaker. They also have Supreme Court Justice Robert		
	Young as a luncheon speaker on Tuesday.		
B/C 03-036		nistrator's Succession Planning Guide. Mr. VanderLaan	
	supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers,		
	VanderLaan, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Rycenga, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Vander Kam,		
	Schrotenboer, Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-037		sed "Prosecution Cost Recovery Ordinance". Mr. VanderLaan	
	supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer,		
	Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, VanderLaan, Ms. Visscher,		
	Mr. Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-038		ation to amend the Articles of Incorporation of the Grand	
	Valley Metro Council allowing the withdrawal of Wayland Township as a member. Mrs. Ruiter		
	supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman,		
	Messrs. Vander Kam, Kuyers, VanderLaan, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-039		he easement for overhead and underground electric lines to	
В/С 03-039			
	Consumers Energy for the purpose of providing electrical service to the Pigeon River Greenway property on West Olive Road. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the		
	following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Ms. Visscher,		
	Messrs. VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-040	•	ion and to appoint Rodney Unema to fill one vacancy on the	
		g Surveyors for a term of two years to begin January 1, 2003,	
	and expiring December 31, 2004. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as		
	shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Vander Kam, Mrs.		
	Kortman, Messrs. VanderLaan, Rycenga, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-041	Mr. Rycenga moved to place into nominat	ion and to appoint Thomas Palarz to fill one vacancy on the	
	Remonumentation Committee representing the Road Commission for a term of two years beginning		
	January 1, 2003, and expiring December 31, 2004. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the		
	motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman,		
	Messrs. VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-042	Mr. Rycenga moved to place into nomination and to appoint Ryan Cotton to fill one vacancy on the		
D/C 02 042	Remonumentation Committee representing the Assessors for a term of two years beginning January 1, 2003 and avairing December 31, 2004. Mrs. Buiter supported the motion and the motion passed as		
	2003, and expiring December 31, 2004. Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Vers: Mr. Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Vander Jaan, Ms. Visscher		
	shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. VanderLaan, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Swartout. (9)		
	Messrs. Ruyers, Schrötenboer, Mrs. Rortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Swartout. (9) Mr. Rycenga moved to place into nomination and to appoint Joanne Marcetti to fill one vacancy on the		
B/C 03-043	Remonumentation Committee representing Realtors for a term of two years beginning January 1, 2003,		
	and expiring December 31, 2004. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown		
	by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs.		
	Rycenga, Vander Kam, Kuyers, VanderLaan, Swartout. (9)		
	Several Commissioners gave reports on meetings attended and future meetings to be held. Mr. Swartout		
	reported that Mr. Vander Kam would be representing Ottawa County on the Keyperson Committee.		
B/C 03-044	Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:06 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Vander Kam		
	supported the motion and the motion passed.		
	DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk	DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman	
	Of the Board of Commissioners	Of the Board of Commissioners	