APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARCH SESSION - FIRST MEETING

	The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, March 11, 2003, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.		
	Mr. Berghorst pronounced the invocation.		
	The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.		
	Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Mess Visscher, Messrs. Berghorst, VanderLaa	rs. Kuyers, Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Ms. n. (9)	
	Absent: Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Vander Kam. (Public Comments and Communications Rita Bird, 859 Waukazoo, Holland, Mic the Community Mental Health Board an	from County Staff nigan, asked the Board for their support on the appointment to	
	Harold Zwyghuizen, 3115 Meadowview Dr., Hudsonville, Michigan, ask the Board to consider Rita Bird for the appointment to the CMH Board.		
B/C 03-065	Ruth Stegeman, 437 W. Lawrence, Zeeland, Michigan, Director of the Lakeshore Center for Independent Living, ask the Board to consider Rita Bird for the appointment to the CMH Board. Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed.		
B/C 03-066	Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:		
	1. To approve the Minutes of the February 25, 2003, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.		
	2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 319.		
	3. To authorize the payroll of March 11, 2003, in the amount of \$444.96.		
	4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,430,191.11 as presented by the summary report for February 17, 2003, through February 28, 2003.Mr. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Rinck, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rycenga,		
	Schrotenboer, Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-067	Ms. Visscher moved to place into nomination *Kristine Nale to fill one (1) vacancy on the Community Mental Health Board representing Primary Consumers for a three year term beginning April 1, 2003, and ending March 31, 2006 (*Incumbent). Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Rycenga, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (9)		
B/C 03-068	B/C 03-068 Ms. Visscher moved to place into nomination *Lucile VanKoevering, Paul K. Schieringa, and Rita Chambers-Bird and select one (1) to fill one (1) vacancy on the Community Mental Health Board representing Family Member for a three (3) year term beginning April 1, 2003, and ending March 31, 2006 (*Incumbent). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion. Results of the roll call vote was as follows:		
	Mr. Schrotenboer - Bird	Mr. VanderLaan - VanKoevering	
	Mrs. Kortman - Bird	Mr. Berghorst - VanKoevering	
	Mr. Rycenga - Bird Mr. Kuyers - VanKoevering	Ms. Visscher - VanKoevering Mr. Swartout - VanKoevering	
	Mr. Rinck - Bird		

	Total votes were as follows: Ms. VanKoevering - 5, Mr. Schieringa - 0, Ms. Bird - 4.		
	The Chairman declared Lucile VanKoevering has b	an declared Lucile VanKoevering has been appointed to serve on the CMH Board	
	representing Family Member for a three year term of	expiring March 31, 2006.	
B/C 03-069	Ms. Visscher moved to place into nomination and to appoint Terry Rogers as a candidate for one		
	opening with a two year term that begins January 1, 2003, and ends December 31, 2004, on the		
	Lakeshore Coordinating Council Advisory Committee. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the		
	motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Rinck, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Schrotenboer,		
	Kuyers, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. VanderLaan, Rycenga, Berghorst, Swartout. (9)		
	Several Commissioners reported on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.		
	Public Comments		
	gan, Director of the Lakeshore Center for Independent		
	Living, passed out to the Board a booklet entitled A Disability Agenda: Investing In Our Common		
	Future. She addressed the issue of accessible public transportation.		
B/C 03-070	Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 1:55 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Rinck supported the		
	motion and the motion passed.		
	DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk	DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman	
	Of the Board of Commissioners	Of the Board of Commissioners	