## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APRIL SESSION - FIRST MEETING

	The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, April 8, 2003, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.		
	Ms. Visscher pronounced the invocation.		
	The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.		
	Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Berghorst, Vander Kam. (10) Absent: Mr. VanderLaan. (1)		
	Public Comments & Communications from County Staff Daniel Krueger, County Clerk, introduced Brooke Sorensen a new employee in the Clerk's Office. Mr. Swartout recognized Jim Miedema, Jamestown Township Supervisor, and Ruth Pruis, Jamestown Township Clerk.		
B/C 03-087	Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed.		
B/C 03-088	Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:		
	1. To approve the Minutes of the March 25, 2003, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.		
	2. To receive as Information the Correspondence Log 320.		
	3. To authorize the payroll of April 8, 2003 in the amount of \$490.72.		
	4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$5,444,190.07 as presented by the summary report for March 17, 2003, through March 31, 2003.		
	Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (10)		
B/C 03-089	Mr. Berghorst moved to adopt the Policy on Payment of Accounts Payable prior to Board Authorization. (Second Reading). Mr. Rycenga supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Rycenga, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (10)		
B/C 03-090	Ms. Visscher moved to approve the Resolution for the "Ottawa County Health Department Comprehensive Arthropod-borne Disease Surveillance, Prevention, and Control Program 2003." Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Rinck, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Rycenga, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (10)		
B/C 03-091	Mr. Schrotenboer moved to nominate and appoint Daniel Krueger, County Clerk, to the Technology Committee representing the County Elected Official, (effective through December 31, 2003.) Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Rinck, Berghorst, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (10)		
B/C 03-092	Mr. Schrotenboer moved to nominate and appoint Jon Overway to the Technology Committee representing the Private Sector, (effective through December 31, 2003). Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Kuyers, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (10)		

B/C 03-093	B/C 03-093 Ms. Visscher moved to nominate Tim Secen* and Javier Revilla and appoint one (1) to the Technology Committee representing the Technology Representative, (effective through December 31, 2003). *Recommended by the committee. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion. Results of the roll call vote was as follows:		
	Mrs. Ruiter- Secen	Mrs. Kortman- Secen	
	Mr. Rinck- Secen	Mr. Berghorst- Secen	
	Mr. Rycenga- Secen	Mr. Vander Kam- Secen	
	Ms. Visscher- Revilla	Mr. Kuyers- Secen	
	Mr. Schrotenboer- Secen	Mr. Swartout- Secen	
	Total votes were as follows: Mr. Secen- 9, Mr. Revilla- 1. The Chairman declared Tim Secen has been appointed to serve on the Technology Committee representing the Technology Representative, (effective through December 31, 2003).		
B/C 03-094	Mr. Schrotenboer moved to nominate and appoint Jim Mankoski, MIS Director, to the Technology Committee representing the MIS Representative, (effective through December 31, 2003). Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion was passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Rinck, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (10)		
B/C 03-095			
B/C 03-095	Education on the Ottawa County Workforce Development Board for a three-year term beginning January 1, 2003, and ending December 31, 2005. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Rinck, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (10)		
B/C 03-096	Ms. Visscher moved to place into nomination and appoint Sara Hambley*, Robert Mercereau*, and		
	William Filber to fill two vacancies representing the Private Sector on the Ottawa County Workforce Development Board for unexpired terms that began on January 1, 2001, and end December 31,2003. * Recommended by Committee. Mr. Rycenga supported the motion. The roll call was as follows:		
	Mr. Vander Kam- Hambley and Mercereau	Mrs. Ruiter- Hambley and Mercereau	
	Ms. Visscher- Hambley and Mercereau	Mr. Kuyers- Hambley and Mercereau	
	Mr. Schrotenboer- Hambley and Mercereau	Mrs. Kortman- Hambley and Mercereau	
	Mr. Berghorst- Hambley and Mercereau	Mr. Rinck- Hambley and Mercereau	
	Mr. Rycenga- Hambley and Mercereau	Mr. Swartout- Hambley and Mercereau	
	•	Mr. Mercereau- 10, Mr. Filber- 0. Mercereau appointed to fill two vacancies representing Development Board for unexpired terms that began	
B/C 03-097	Ms. Visscher moved to nominate and appoint Roger Cotner to fill one (1) vacancy on the Tax Allocation Board representing the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners for a one (1) year term beginning January 1, 2003 and ending December 31, 2003. Mrs. Ruiter supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Kuyers, Swartout. (10)		
B/C 03-098	Ms. Visscher moved to nominate and appoint Fred VanderLaan, Ottawa County Board of Commissioner, to fill one (1) vacancy on the Community Mental Health Board representing the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners for a three (3) year term beginning April 1, 2003 and ending March 31, 2006. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (10)		
B/C 03-099	Messis: Knick, Swartout. (10) Ms. Visscher moved to nominate and appoint Sharon Smeyers to fill the current vacancy on the Ottawa County Jury Board which expires April 30, 2005. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs: Berghorst, Kuyers, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Rycenga, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (10) The Administrator's Report was presented. Several Commissioners reported on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.		

B/C 03-100Mr. Rinck moved to adjourn at 2:02 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Vander Kam supported the<br/>motion and the motion passed.<br/>DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk<br/>Of the Board of CommissionersDENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chair<br/>Of the Board of Commissioners