APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY SESSION - FIRST MEETING

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, May 13, 2003, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mrs. Kortman pronounced the invocation.

The Chair led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Berghorst, VanderLaan, Vander Kam. (10)

Absent: Mr. Rycenga. (1)

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Gerry Cyranowski, Mental Health Director, updated the Board on the CMH plan for putting together an outline for the Community Needs Assessment. CMH is looking at using an outside consultant to facilitate. Four work group are being put together to represent mentally ill children, mentally ill adults, developmentally disabled children and developmentally disabled adults. Four forums will be held which will include public comments. The consultant will then pull all the input together and present it to the CMH Board. It was also noted the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners would like a presentation of the findings.

Dennis Swartout, Chair, read the following letter:

"It has come to my attention that certain published statements associated with the announced retirement of Bob Oosterbaan have been somewhat unclear. I wish to correct any public misunderstanding that may exist out in the community. Annually for the last five years Mr. Oosterbaan has been formally evaluated by the entire board. The evaluation tool used covers ten performance categories ranging from job knowledge and judgment, to leadership and planning. The composite evaluation results related to these specific categories have consistently indicated that Bob Oosterbaan meets the job requirements associated with the position of County Administrator. To think otherwise would not be a true reflection of the facts. I trust this clarifies the situation and helps everyone to better understand some of the issues related to this matter.

Dennis W. Swartout

Chair of County Board

May 13, 2003"

B/C 03-114 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion.

B/C 03-115 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to amend the agenda of today adding Action Item #8 - Appointment to the Ottawa County Jury Board. Mr. VanderLaan supported the amendment and the amendment passed.

A vote was taken on the motion as amended and the amended motion passed.

1 of 2 6/2/2006 9:54 AM

- B/C 03-116 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions: 1. To approve the Minutes of the April 22, 2003, Board of Commissioners' Meeting. 2. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 321. 3. To authorize the payroll of May 13, 2003, in the amount of \$499.36. 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,479,207.50 as presented by the summary report for April 14, 2003, through April 30, 2003. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messes. Rinck, Swartout. (10) Mr. VanderLaan moved to go into Closed Session at 1:40 p.m. to discuss Contract B/C 03-117 Negotiations. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, VanderLaan, Ms. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rinck, Swartout. (10) Mr. VanderLaan moved to rise from Closed Session at 2:22 p.m. Mr. Schrotenboer B/C 03-118 supported the motion and the motion passed. Mr. Schrotenboer moved to nominate and appoint Christopher J. Kuncaitis, Robinson B/C 03-119 Township Supervisor, to the Technology Committee representing the Local Government Representative, (effective through December 31, 2003). Mr. Kuyers supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Rinck, VanderLaan, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (10) B/C 03-120 Ms. Visscher moved to place into nomination and appoint Don Williams, Ph.D., to fill a vacancy on the Lakeshore Coordinating Council's Advisory Committee for a two year term beginning January 1, 2002, and ending December 31, 2003, representing education and community organizations. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Rinck, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. B/C 03-121 Mr. VanderLaan moved to appoint Patricia Hunt to the Ottawa County Jury Board representing the Democratic Party with term expiring April 30, 2009. Ms. Visscher supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Kuyers, VanderLaan, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Schrotenboer, Swartout. (10) The Administrator's report was presented.
- Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed.

 DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
 Of the Board of Commissioners

 DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman
 Of the Board of Commissioners

B/C 03-122

Several Commissioners reported on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:30 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr.

2 of 2 6/2/2006 9:54 AM