## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OCTOBER SESSION - THIRD MEETING

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, October 28, 2003, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Rycenga pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Berghorst, VanderLaan. (10)

Absent: Mr. Vander Kam. (1)

## Presentation of Petitions and Communications

A note of thanks was read from the Henry Sjoerdsma family for the floral arrangement sent upon the death of Henry Sjoerdsma.

A note of thanks was read from Thomas and Billie Sargeant for the floral arrangement sent upon the death of Marylou Sargeant.

The Chair so noted and accepted.

## Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

D. Dale Mohr, 7390 Walnut, Jenison, expressed his disappointment in the passage of the motion to indefinitely postpone action on the Resolution supporting a vote on a "Traditional Marriage" Amendment to the 1963 Constitution of the State of Michigan. He asked the Board to please consider bringing this motion back.

B/C 03-230 Mr. VanderLaan moved to open the Public Hearing on the 2004 Budget at 1:35 p.m. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 03-231 Mr. Berghorst moved to close the Public Hearing. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 03-232 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. Mr. Kuyers supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 03-233 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the October 14, 2003, Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To authorize the payroll of October 28, 2003, in the amount of \$1,477.12.
- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$26,037,836.58 as presented by the summary report for October 1 through October 17, 2003.

1 of 3 6/2/2006 9:57 AM

4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of September 2003.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Rinck, VanderLaan, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Rycenga, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Schrotenboer, Swartout. (10)

B/C 03-234 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the following benefit adjustments for 2005 for County Commissioners:

A. Health Plan Wellness/Prevention: Effective January 1, 2005: Increase the annual per person wellness/prevention amount in the health plan from \$250 to \$300.

B. Health Plan Co-pay: Effective January 1, 2005: Implement employee co-pay of twenty percent (20%) on the difference in actuarial determined cost between each year and 2003.

<u>Example</u>: Single coverage cost in 2003 is \$3,211. For 2004, the cost is \$3,792. Employees choosing single coverage in 2004 will pay 20% of the difference of .20 x \$581 - \$116.20.

C. Health Plan, Out-of-Network: Effective January 1, 2005: Increase the annual out-of-pocket maximum on out-of-network claims from \$1,100 (Single)/\$1,200 (Family) to \$1,650/\$1,800.

D. Dental Coverage: Effective January 1, 2005: Increase the annual maximum from \$800 to \$1,200 (Dental Option II) and from \$1,000 to \$1,400 (Dental Option I).

Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Rycenga, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Rinck, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (10)

B/C 03-235 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the 2003 Apportionment Report. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, VanderLaan, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (10)

B/C 03-236 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the 2004 Budget Resolution and 2004 Budget. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Rycenga, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (10)

B/C 03-237 Mr. Berghorst moved to adopt the Revised Ottawa County Policy on Appointments to Boards, Commissioners, and Advisory Bodies. (Second Reading). Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Rinck, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. VanderLaan, Rycenga, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (10)

B/C 03-238 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the HAZMET and Technical Rescue Team Agreement and By-Laws, as amended to reflect a 75% participation level among local governmental units. Mr. VanderLaan supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Rycenga, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. VanderLaan, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Rinck, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (10)

2 of 3 6/2/2006 9:57 AM

B/C 03-239 Mr. VanderLaan moved to reconsider the motion made to indefinitely postpone action on the "Traditional Marriage" Resolution. Mr. Kuyers supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Rycenga, Swartout. (8)

Nays: Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher. (2)

B/C 03-240 Mr. VanderLaan moved to refer the motion back to the Planning and Policy Committee for further consideration. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Kuyers, VanderLaan, Swartout. (10)

Mr. Swartout announced there will be a Special Session of the Board on Thursday, October 30th, at 3:00 p.m. regarding the Administrator's position.

B/C 03-241 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 1:50 subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

3 of 3 6/2/2006 9:57 AM