## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS NOVEMBER SESSION - FIRST SESSION

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, November 11, 2003, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Vander Kam pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Berghorst, VanderLaan, Vander Kam. (11)

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

The following people addressed the Commission strongly opposing the "Traditional Marriage Resolution".

- 1. Pete Armstrong, 10205 Lakeshore, West Olive, Michigan.
- 2. Lynne Deur, 18332 North Shore Estates, Spring Lake, Michigan.
- 3. Mike McCluskey, 6917 Vintage Dr., Hudsonville, Michigan.
- 4. Kathy Sorensen, 441 Madison, Grand Rapids, Michigan.

B/C 03-245 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the agenda of today as presented and amended striking Ken Rizzio's name from #9 - Workforce Development Board and changing Jay to Joy in #11 - Workforce Development Board. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

B/C 03-246 Mr. VanderLaan moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the October 27, 2003, and October 28, 2003 Special Sessions of the Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 2. To approve the Minutes of the October 28, 2003, Regular Board of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 3. To approve the Minutes of the October 30, 2003, Special Session of the Bard of Commissioners' Meeting.
- 4. To receive as information the Correspondence Log 327.
- 5. To authorize the payroll of October 30, 2003, and November 11, 2003, in the amount of \$1,040.88.
- 6. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$3,075,459.43 as presented by the summary report for October 20, 2003, through October 31, 2003.
- 7. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Finance Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of October 2003.

Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Rinck, VanderLaan, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Rycenga, Mrs. Ruiter, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (11)

1 of 3 6/2/2006 9:57 AM

B/C 03-247 Ms. Visscher moved to approve and direct the Chairperson to sign two resolutions supporting the applications of Ottawa County, for and on behalf of Ottawa County Community Action Agency, to receive Community Development Block Grant funds in the amount of \$450,000 and Housing Resource funds in the amount of \$236,272. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rycenga, Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Rinck, VanderLaan, Berghorst, Ms. Visscher, Mr. Swartout. (11)

B/C 03-248 Ms. Visscher moved to forward the applications of Jone Bosch and Scott Brouwer as candidates for one (1) opening for an unexpired term which began January 1, 2002, and ends December 31, 2004, on the Workforce Development Board representing Community Based Organizations/ Economic Development. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion.

## Results of the roll call vote:

Mrs. Kortman - Bosch Mr. Rinck - Brouwer

Mr. Vander Kam - Brouwer Ms. Visscher - Brouwer

Mr. Kuyers - Brouwer Mr. Rycenga - Brouwer

Mr. VanderLaan - Brouwer Mr. Schrotenboer - Brouwer

Mrs. Ruiter - Brouwer Mr. Swartout - Brouwer

Mr. Berghorst - Brouwer

Total votes were as follows: Ms. Bosch - 1, Mr. Brouwer - 10.

The Chair declared Mr. Brouwer appointed to the Workforce Development Board with term ending December 31, 2004.

B/C 03-249 Ms. Visscher moved to forward the applications of William Filber and Jodi Dombrowski\* as candidates for one (1) opening to complete an unexpired term which began January 1, 2002, and end December 31, 2004, on the Workforce Development Board representing the Private Sector. Mr. Berghorst supported the motion.

## Results of the roll call vote:

Mrs. Ruiter - Dombrowski Ms. Visscher - Dombrowski

Mrs. Kortman - Dombrowski Mr. VanderLaan - Dombrowski

Mr. Rinck - Dombrowski Mr. Kuyers - Dombrowski

Mr. Berghorst - Dombrowski Mr. Schrotenboer - Dombrowski

Mr. Rycenga - Dombrowski Mr. Swartout - Dombrowski

Mr. Vander Kam - Dombrowski

Total votes were as follows: Mr. Filber - 0, Mr. Dombrowski - 11.

The Chair declared Ms. Dombrowski appointed to the Workforce Development Board with term ending December 31, 2004.

B/C 03-250 Ms. Visscher moved to forward the applications of Joy Gaasch and Richard Diamond as candidates for two (2) openings with a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2004, and ending December 31, 2006, on the Workforce Development Board representing Community Based Organizations/Economic Development. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Rinck, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs.

2 of 3 6/2/2006 9:57 AM

VanderLaan, Rycenga, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Swartout. (11)

B/C 03-251 Ms. Visscher moved to forward the applications of Dick deSpelder, Sara Hambley, Bob Mercereau and Chad Tuttle as candidates for four (4) openings for a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2004, and ending December 31, 2006, on the Workforce Development Board representing the Private Sector. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the motion and the motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Rycenga, Vander Kam, Ms. Visscher, Messrs. VanderLaan, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Swartout. (11)

**Discussion Items** 

MAC NET Media - A powerpoint presentation was presented by Chris Gould, President and CEO of MAC Media.

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners reported on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 03-252 Mr. VanderLaan moved to adjourn at 2:15 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. Mr. Rinck supported the motion and the motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DENNIS W. SWARTOUT, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners

3 of 3 6/2/2006 9:57 AM