APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APRIL SESSION – FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, April 11, 2006, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Holtrop pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Vander Kam. (11)

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Sandy Castle, 692 Harrison, Holland, reported 19 CMH employees will participate in the Fifth Third Riverbank Run to raise money for CMH. She asked the Board for their support.

Dennis MaKee, Consumers Energy, introduced himself and told the Board he was available to answer questions.

Gary Rosema recognized the following Sheriff Department employees: Dan Lassa, Michelle Gerard, and Pete Feliciano.

Gordon Schrotenboer introduced Tim Smith from Central Dispatch.

- B/C 06-106 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve the agenda of today.
- B/C 06-107 Mrs. Ruiter moved to amend Motion B/C 06-106 removing Appointments C-1 and replacing Appointments C-2. The motion passed.

Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Disselkoen, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (10)

Nays: Mr. Vander Kam. (1)

A vote was than taken on the motion as amended and the amended motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Disselkoen, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (11)

B/C 06-108 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the March 23-24, 2006, and March 28, 2006, Board of Commissioners Meetings.
- 2. To receive for information Correspondence Log 356.
- 3. To authorize the payroll of March 23, 2006, March 24, 2006, and March 28, 2006, in the amounts of \$596.62, \$926.62 and \$536.26 respectively for a total of \$2,086.50.
- 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,444,627.37 as presented by the summary report for March 20, 2006, through March 31, 2006.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Swartout, Vander Kam, Disselkoen, Holtrop, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (11)

- B/C 06-109 Mr. Disselkoen moved to receive for information the Ottawa County Drain Commissioner's 2005 Annual Report presented by Paul Geerlings, Drain Commissioner, and Linda Brown, Deputy Drain Commissioner. The motion passed.
- B/C 06-110 Mr. Rinck moved to receive for information the Ottawa County Sheriff's Department 2005 Annual Report presented by Gary Rosema, Sheriff. The motion passed.
- B/C 06-111 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to receive for information the Ottawa County Prosecutor's Office 2005 Annual Report presented by Ronald Frantz, Prosecutor.
- B/C 06-112 Mr. Disselkoen moved to receive for information the Ottawa County 20th Circuit Court and Probate Court's 2005 Annual Report presented by Kevin Bowling, Circuit Court Administrator. The motion passed.

B/C 06-113 Mrs. Ruiter moved to nominate Alan W. Hinks, James V. Kloosterman, Robert Brown*, Fred VanderLaan, Sue Harding, and Warren L. Harding and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) position on the Community Mental Health Board Family Member to serve a three (3) year term beginning April 1, 2006, until March 31, 2009. (* Recommended by Committee.)

Results of the roll call vote:

Mr. Rinck – VanderLaan	Mr. Holtrop - Brown
Mr. Disselkoen – Brown	Mr. Swartout - Hicks
Mr. Schrotenboer – Brown	Mr. Berghorst - VanderLaan
Mr. Kuyers – Brown	Mrs. Ruiter - Brown
Mr. Vander Kam – VanderLaan	Mr. Rycenga - Kloosterman
Mrs. Kortman - Brown	

Total votes were as follows: Mr. Hicks -1, Mr. Kloosterman -1, Mr. Brown -6, and Mr. VanderLaan -3.

The Chair declared Mr. Brown appointed to the CMH Board representing Family Member.

The County Administrator's report was presented.

B/C 06-114 Mr. Disselkoen moved to adjourned at 3:25 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk Of the Board of Commissioners ROGER RYCENGA, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners