APPROVED & CORRECTED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JUNE SESSION – SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, June 27, 2006, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Vander Kam pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Kuyers, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Vander Kam. (10)

Absent: Mr. Swartout. (1)

B/C 06-159 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Holtrop, Disselkoen, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Rycenga. (10)

B/C 06-160 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the June 13, 2006, Board of Commissioners Meeting.
- 2. To authorize the payroll of June 27, 2006, in the amount of \$511.69.
- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$3,831,745.64 as presented by the summary report for June 1, 2006, through June 16, 2006.
- 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of May 2006.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Disselkoen, Rinck, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Kuyers, Holtrop, Rycenga. (10)

- B/C 06-161 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution authorizing and directing the Ottawa County Building Authority to proceed with the "Grand Haven Courthouse and Fillmore Complex Facility Plan" dated March 14, 2006, as set forth therein. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Disselkoen, Rinck, Rycenga. (10)
- B/C 06-162 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution establishing the financing mechanism for the "Grand Haven Courthouse and Fillmore Complex Facility Plan" dated March 14, 2006. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Disselkoen, Rinck, Rycenga. (10)
- B/C 06-163 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution authorizing any costs incurred by the County of Ottawa or the Ottawa County Building Authority in connection with the implementation of the "Grand Haven Courthouse and Fillmore Facility Plan" dated March 14, 2006, to be reimbursed from bond proceeds or, if incurred by the Authority and not reimbursed by bond proceeds, to be reimbursed by the County. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Rinck, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Disselkoen, Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (10)
- B/C 06-164 Mr. Kuyers moved to receive bids for the Park 12 Dock Removal Project (docks located between the Coast Guard Station and Parkside Marina) and to approve awarding the bid to DK Construction at a cost of \$12,000 with funding from the Parks and Recreation Department fund balance. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Rinck, Holtrop, Berghorst, Disselkoen, Rycenga. (10)
- B/C 06-165 Mrs. Kortman moved to amend subsection 5. of the Wages provision of the *Group T Benefits Manual* by adding "Mental Health Clinicians assigned to the Crisis Team" to the exceptions in subsection 5. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Disselkoen, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (10)
- B/C 06-166 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve the Employment Agreement with Alan G. Vanderberg for the period of January 1, 2007, through December 31, 2009, and to authorize the Board Chairperson and County Clerk to execute the agreement. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Vander Kam, Disselkoen, Holtrop, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (10)

B/C 06-167 Mrs. Ruiter moved to nominate Kristi Nale, *Dan J. Van Ommen, Karla Nelson for appointment to the Ottawa County Community Mental Health Board and appoint one to fill one (1) Primary Consumer Member vacancy to serve from April 1, 2006, to March 31, 2009. (*Recommended by Committee.)

Results of the roll call vote:

Mr. Rinck – Nale
Mr. Disselkoen – Van Ommen
Mr. Schrotenboer – Van Ommen
Mr. Kuyers – Van Ommen
Mr. Vander Kam – Nale
Mr. Kortman – Van Ommen
Mr. Holtrop – Van Ommen
Mr. Berghorst - Nale
Mrs. Ruiter – Van Ommen
Mrs. Ruiter – Van Ommen
Mr. Rycenga – Nale

Total votes were as follows: Ms. Nale -4, Mr. Van Ommen -6, Ms. Nelson -0.

The Chair declared Dan J. Van Ommen appointed to the Ottawa County Mental Health Board.

B/C 06-168 Mrs. Ruiter moved to nominate Robert E. Byrd, Mary Ann Cartwright, Warren Harding, Sue Harding, Alan Hinks, James Kloosterman, Frederick G. Leaske, Susan Offenbecker, Fred VanderLaan, *Keith Van Zoeren and appoint one to the Ottawa County Community Mental Health Board to fill one (1) General Public Member vacancy to serve from April 1, 2005, to March 31, 2008. (*Recommended by Committee.)

Results of the roll call vote:

Mr. Vander Kam – Byrd Mr. Schrotenboer – Van Zoeren Mrs. Kortman – Van Zoeren Mr. Disselkoen – Van Zoeren Mr. Holtrop – Van Zoeren Mr. Rinck - Byrd Mrs. Byr

Mr. Berghorst – Byrd Mrs. Ruiter – Van Zoeren Mr. Kuyers – Van Zoeren Mr. Rycenga – Byrd

Total votes were as follows: Mr. Byrd -4, Ms. Cartwright -0, Mr. Harding -0, Ms. Harding -0, Mr. Hinks -0, Mr. Kloosterman -0, Mr. Leaske -0, Ms. Offenbecker -0, Mr. VanderLaan -0, Mr. Van Zoeren -6.

The Chair declared Keith Van Zoeren appointment to the Ottawa County Mental Health Board.

B/C 06-169 Mr. Disselkoen moved to adjourn at 1:50 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
Of the Board of Commissioners
Of the Board of Commissioners