APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AUGUST SESSION

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Thursday, August 24, 2006, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Commissioner Swartout pronounced the invocation.

The County Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Vander Kam. (11)

Public Comments and Communications

Janet Joiner, 16061 Harbor St., Spring Lake, urged the Board to move forward on the ban on fertilizers

Kaye Nedderman, 150 Crescent, Grand Haven, representing C.O.R.E. (Cleanup Our River Environment) urges the Board to consider an ordinance to ban fertilizers.

Goris Passchier, Northern Star Minerals, 3893 Heritage Ave., Suite B3, Okemos, MI 48864, formulates fertilizers and makes recommendations to growers and farmers. He is a resident of Georgetown Township and asks that the Board of Commissioners look at the whole picture, not just one aspect.

- B/C 06-209 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve the agenda of today.
- B/C 06-210 Mr. Swartout moved to amend the agenda and remove Action Item #3. The amendment passed.

A vote was taken on the motion as amended and the amended motion passed.

- B/C 06-211 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
 - 1. To approve the Minutes of the August 10, 2006 Board of Commissioners Meeting.
 - 2. To authorize the payroll of August 24, 2006, in the amount of \$563.26.

- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,219,717.84 as presented by the summary report for August 1, 2006, through August 11, 2006.
- 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of July 2006.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Rinck, Holtrop, Berghorst, Disselkoen, Rycenga. (11)

- B/C 06-212 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the 2005 Cost Allocation Plan for implementation in the 2007 budget. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Disselkoen, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (11)
- B/C 06-213 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the Information Technology Billing Rate Study for 2007 for implementation in the 2007 budget. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Swartout, Vander Kam, Disselkoen, Holtrop, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (11)
- B/C 06-214 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the "Michigan Emergency Management Assistance Compact (MEMAC)," between and among the State of Michigan and participating Michigan municipalities, including the County of Ottawa. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Disselkoen, Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Swartout, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Rycenga. (11)
- B/C 06-215 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the Regional "Pre-Hazard Mitigation Plan, Kent County, Ottawa County, City of Grand Rapids, Michigan," for Ottawa County. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Swartout, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Rinck, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Rycenga. (11)
- B/C 06-216 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the proposed timeline for transition of the Southwest Ottawa County Landfill Property / Riley Trails to County Park status, including trail and facility improvements. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter,

Messrs. Holtrop, Disselkoen, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Swartout, Rycenga. (11)

B/C 06-217 Mr. Kuyers moved to receive bids for the Tunnel Park Restroom Renovation Project and to accept the bid from Apex Construction in the amount of \$184,030.00 including Alternates 1, 2, and 3 with funding from the Parks and Recreation Department budget. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Disselkoen, Rinck, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Vander Kam, Kuyers, Holtrop, Rycenga. (11)

B/C 06-218 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Option for Conservation Easement with the Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) to permit construction of a wetland mitigation project in the Upper Macatawa Conservation Area with MDOT to pay \$85,810 to Ottawa County upon exercise of the Option. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs., Swartout, Disselkoen, Rinck, Rycenga. (11)

B/C 06-219 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the easement agreement with Michigan Bell Telephone Company on Park 12 Property in Park Township for the easement fee of \$5,000.00 payable Parks and Recreation. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Vander Kam, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Disselkoen, Rinck, Rycenga. (11)

B/C 06-220 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the permit to construct to the Michigan Department of Transportation for construction of a wetland mitigation project in the Upper Macatawa Conservation Area. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Rinck, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Disselkoen, Vander Kam, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (11)

B/C 06-221 Mrs. Ruiter moved to place into nomination Robert Byrd, Karla John Nelson, James Kloosterman, Frederick G. Leaske, Deb Huggins, Mary Ann Cartwright, Susan Offenbecker, Kristine Nale, LeRoy Hernandez, Alan Hinks, Barbara Rosales, *Lupita Reyes, Fred VanderLaan, Warren Harding, and Sue Harding for appointment to the Community Mental Health Board to fill one (1) General Public member vacancy to serve an unexpired three year term beginning April 1, 2005 and expiring March 31, 2008. (*Recommended by the Board)

Results of the roll call vote:

Kortman – Reyes Rycenga - Byrd
Kuyers – Reyes Schrotenboer - Reyes
Swartout – Reyes Disselkoen - Reyes
Ruiter – Reyes Berghorst - Byrd
Rinck - Byrd Holtrop – Reyes

Vander Kam – Byrd

Total votes were as follows: Reyes – 7, Byrd – 4

The Chair declared Lupita Reyes appointed to Community Mental Health Board as a General Public Member.

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners reported on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 06-222 Mr. Holtrop moved to adjourn at 1:55 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
Of the Board of Commissioners

ROGER RYCENGA, Chairman
Of the Board of Commissioners