APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SEPTEMBER SESSION – FIRST MEETING

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, September 12, 2006, at 1:30 p.m. and was called o order by the Chair.

Commissioner Schrotenboer pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Vander Kam. (11)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

- A. Government Finance Officers Association Distinguished Budget Presentation Award – June Hagan, Fiscal Services Director, presented Connie Vander Schaaf, Budget Audit Manager, with the Government Finance Officers Association Distinguished Budget Presentation Award.
- B/C 06-223 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed.
- B/C 06-224 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
 - 1. To approve the Minutes of the August 24, 2006, Board of Commissioners Meeting and Board of Commissioners Work Session Meeting.
 - 2. To authorize the payroll of September 5, 2006, in the amount of \$563.26.
 - 3. To receive for information Correspondence Log 361.
 - 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$5,300,051.69 as presented by the summary report for August 14, 2006, through August 31, 2006.
 - To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of August 2006.

6. To receive the Government Finance Officers Association's Distinguished Budget Presentation Award for the fiscal year beginning January 1, 2006.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Disselkoen, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (11)

- B/C 06-225 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution of Intent to Increase the 2006 Millage Rate for Ottawa County to 1.1666 mills for a total of 3.5 mills for 2006. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Swartout, Vander Kam, Disselkoen, Holtrop, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Rycenga. (11)
- B/C 06-226 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution of Intent to Increase the 2006 Millage Rate for E-911 to .4407 mills. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Disselkoen, Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Swartout, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Rycenga. (11)
- B/C 06-227 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution of Intent to Increase the 2006 Millage Rate for Parks to .3165 mills. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Swartout, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Rinck, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Rycenga. (11)
- B/C 06-228 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution Regarding the Distribution of Convention Facility Tax Revenues to Counties Under Public Acts 106 and 107 of 1985. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Vander Kam, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Holtrop, Disselkoen, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Swartout, Rycenga. (11)
- B/C 06-229 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution Regarding the Distribution of Cigarette Tax Revenues to Counties Under Public Acts 219 and 264 of 1987. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Disselkoen, Rinck, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Vander Kam, Kuyers, Holtrop, Rycenga. (11)

 B/C 06-230 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the Resolution authorizing the County Road Commission to issue Act 342 Bonds in the not-to-exceed amount of \$1,175,000 to finance the Allendale Charter Township 2006 Water Supply System Improvements. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Vander Kam, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Disselkoen, Rinck, Rycenga. (11)

General Information, Comments, and Meetings Attended

A brief update of the Justice Imaging Project was presented by David Hulst, IT Director, and Daniel Krueger, County Clerk.

Public Comments

Kay Nedderman, 150 Crescent, Grand Haven, stated she was not requesting a fertilizer ban as noted in the August 24th minutes but rather banning phosphorous in fertilizer. She questioned who was on the work team and who she should be sending information to. Greg Rappleye reported the Administrator was working on this and it will be discussed at the next Planning and Policy Committee Meeting.

B/C 06-231 Mr. Holtrop moved to adjourn at 2:15 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk Of the Board of Commissioners ROGER RYCENGA, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners