Donald G. Disselkoen

Vice-Chairperson

12220 Fillmore Street, Room 310, West Olive, Michigan 49460

West Olive (616) 738-4898 Fax (616) 738-4888 Grand Haven (616) 846-8295

Grand Rapids (616) 662-3100

Website: www.miOTTAWA.org

December 6, 2006

To All Ottawa County Commissioners:

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners will meet on **Tuesday**, **December 12**, **2006** at **1:30 p.m.**, for the regular **December** meeting of the Board at the Ottawa County Fillmore Street Complex, West Olive, Michigan.

## The Agenda is as follows:

- 1. Call to Order by the Chairperson
- 2. Invocation Commissioner Kuyers
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag
- 4. Roll Call
- 5. Presentation of Petitions and Communications
- 6. Public Comments and Communications from County Staff
- 7. Approval of Agenda
- 8. Actions and Reports
  - A. Consent Resolutions:

## From the County Clerk

1. Board of Commissioners Meeting Minutes Suggested Motion:

To approve the Minutes of the November 28, 2006 Board of Commissioners Meeting.

Joyce Kortman Philip Kuyers Dennis W. Swartout Jane M. Ruiter Robert J. Rinck Gordon Schrotenboer Edward Berghorst Jim Holtrop Cornelius Vander Kam 2. Correspondence Log 364

Suggested Motion:

To receive for information Correspondence Log 364.

3. Payroll

Suggested Motion:

To authorize the payroll of December 12, 2006 in the amount of \$\_\_\_\_\_

## From the Finance and Administration Committee

4. Monthly Accounts Payable for November 20, 2006 through November 30, 2006. Suggested Motion:

To approve the general claims in the amount of \$1,400,925.55 as presented by the summary report for November 20, 2006 through November 30, 2006.

### From Administration

5. Resolutions of Appreciation to Retiring Members of the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners – Commissioners Robert J. Rinck and Cornelius Vander Kam Suggested Motion:

To approve the presentation of Resolutions of Appreciation to retiring members of the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners – Commissioners Robert J. Rinck and Cornelius Vander Kam.

6. Resolution of Congratulations to Coopersville High School

Suggested Motion:

To approve the presentation of a Resolution of Congratulations to the Coopersville High School Varsity Football Team for finishing as runner-up in the Division 4 State Championship.

7. Resolution of Congratulations to Unity Christian High School

Suggested Motion:

To approve the presentation of a Resolution of Congratulations to the Unity Christian High School Varsity Girl's Basketball Team for winning the Class B State Championship.

8. Resolution of Congratulations to Zeeland West High School

Suggested Motion:

To approve the presentation of a Resolution of Congratulations to the Zeeland West High School Varsity Football Team for winning the Division 4 State Championship.

#### B. Action Items:

# From the Planning and Policy Committee

1. Ordinance to Ban Lawn Fertilizer Containing Phosphorous Suggested Motion:

To approve the proposed Ordinance to ban lawn fertilizer containing phosphorous within Ottawa County.

## From the Health and Human Services Committee

2. Agreement Between Ottawa County and Michigan Pathology Specialists, P.C.

(Dr. David Start and Dr. Stephen D. Cohle)

Suggested Motion:

To approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Agreement Between Ottawa County and Michigan Pathology Specialists, P.C.

3. Agreement for Autopsy Services Between Ottawa County and West Michigan Pathology Associates (the Holland Pathologists)

Suggested Motion:

To approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Agreement for Autopsy Services Between Ottawa County and West Michigan Pathology Associates (the Holland Pathologists).

4. Agreement for Medical Examiner Facilities Between Ottawa County and Holland Hospital Suggested Motion:

To approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Agreement for Medical Examiner Facilities Between Ottawa County and Holland Hospital.

## From the Personnel Committee

5. Group T Step Placement Upon Promotion

Suggested Motion:

To approve the Group T Personnel Benefits Manual policy modification regarding salary step placement upon promotion.

## C. Appointments:

# From Administration

1. West Michigan Regional Planning Commission Representative Appointees Suggested Motion:

To appoint Mark Knudsen and Ed Berghorst to the West Michigan Regional Planning Commission (Region 8) for a one (1) year term which begins January 1, 2007 and ends December 31, 2007.

#### From the Personnel Committee

2. Appointment to the Ottawa County Community Corrections Advisory Board – Service Area Vacancy

Suggested Motion:

To place into nomination the names of Matt Jachalke, Bill Raymond\*, and John Meengs and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) Service Area vacancy on the Community Corrections Advisory Board, to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2008 (\*Recommended by the Personnel Committee).

3. Appointment to the Ottawa County Building Authority Board Suggested Motion:

To place into nomination the names of Leroy R. Dell\* and Steven R. Sheldon and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) Member vacancy on the Building Authority Board, to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2008 (\*Recommended by the Personnel Committee).

4. Appointment to the Ottawa County Planning Commission – Agriculture Vacancy Suggested Motion:

To place into nomination the names of Michael VanderBrug and William E. Miller\* and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) Agriculture vacancy on the Planning Commission, to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009 (\*Recommended by the Personnel Committee).

5. Appointment to the Ottawa County Parks and Recreation Commission Suggested Motion:

To place into nomination the names of Jane L. Johnson, Bobbi Jones Sabine\*, Joseph Walderzak, Darwin J. Baas, Gerald L. Hunsburger, Greg DeJong, E.O. "Skip" Keeter, and Chris Larson and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) Member vacancy on the Parks and Recreation Commission, to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009 (\*Recommended by the Personnel Committee).

6. Appointment to the Ottawa County Road Commission Suggested Motion:

To place into nomination the names of David Vander Kooi\*, Chris Larson\*, Clell Howard Sarber, Gary C. Voogt\*, Gerald L. Hunsburger, and E. O. "Skip" Keeter and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) Member vacancy on the Road Commission, to serve a six (6) year term beginning January 1, 2007 through December 31, 2012 (\*Recommended by the Personnel Committee).

7. Appointment to the Ottawa County Officers' Compensation Commission Suggested Motion:

To place into nomination the names of Joanne Brownlee, Henry Hofman, Mark DeRoo\*, and Kurt Wassink\* and appoint two (2) to fill (2) Member vacancies on the Officers' Compensation Commission, to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009 (\*Recommended by the Personnel Committee).

- D. Discussion Items: None
- E. Report of the County Administrator
- F. General Information, Comments, and Meetings Attended
- 9. Public Comments
- 10. Adjournment