APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 3, 2006, at 11:00 a.m. and was called to order by the County Clerk.

Mr. Berghorst pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rinck, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Vander Kam. (10)

Absent: Mrs. Kortman. (1)

The Clerk opened the floor for nominations for Temporary Chairperson.

Mr. Swartout nominated Mrs. Ruiter as Temporary Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners. Mr. Schrotenboer supported the nomination.

B/C 06-001 Mr. Holtrop moved the nominations be closed and the Clerk cast a unanimous ballot for Mrs. Ruiter. The motion passed.

Mrs. Ruiter as Temporary Chair opened the nominations for Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Kuyers nominated Mr. Rycenga as Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners. Mr. Rinck supported the nomination.

B/C 06-002 Mr. Holtrop moved the nominations be closed and the Clerk cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Rycenga. The motion passed.

Mr. Rycenga occupied the Chair and called for nominations for the office of Vice Chairman of the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Schrotenboer nominated Mr. Disselkoen. Mr. Rinck supported the nomination.

B/C 06-003 Mr. Holtrop moved the nominations be closed and the Clerk cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Disselkoen. The motion passed.

The Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Chairman and Vice Chairman.

Mr. Rycenga presented the 2006 Ottawa County Board of Commissioners Committee assignments.

<u>Finance & Administration Committee</u> – Dennis Swartout – Chair, Joyce Kortman, Robert Rinck, Gordon Schrotenboer, Edward Berghorst.

<u>Personnel Committee</u> – Jane Ruiter – Chair, Joyce Kortman, Donald Disselkoen, James Holtrop, Gordon Schrotenboer.

<u>Health & Human Services Committee</u> – Cornelius Vander Kam – Chair, Joyce Kortman, Jane Ruiter, James Holtrop, Robert Rinck.

<u>Planning & Policy Committee</u> – Philip Kuyers – Chair, Dennis Swartout, Cornelius Vander Kam, Donald Disselkoen, Edward Berghorst.

<u>Special Committee on Technology</u>- Gordon Schrotenboer, Chairperson; Philip Kuyers, County Commissioner; Daniel C. Krueger, County Elected Official; Daniel M. Jensen, Local Governmental Official; Jon Overway and Chris Kuncaitis, Private Sector Representatives; Tim Secen and Glen Houting, Technology Representatives; Alan G. Vanderberg, Member; David Hulst, Staff Attendee.

B/C 06-004 Mr. Berghorst moved to adopt the appointments to the Standing Committee. The motion passed.

B/C 06-005 Mr. Holtrop moved to adjourn at 11:09 a.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
Of the Board of Commissioners
ROGER RYCENGA, Chairman
Of the Board of Commissioners