## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS JANUARY SESSION – THIRD DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 24, 2006, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Disselkoen pronounced the invocation.

The Chair led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Rinck, Rycenga, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Vander Kam. (9)

Absent: Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer. (2)

B/C 06-025 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve the agenda of today.

B/C 06-026 Mr. Disselkoen moved to amend Motion B/C 06-025 adding Consent Item #5 – Appointment to the West Michigan Regional Planning Commission (Region 8). The motion passed.

A vote was than taken on the motion as amended and the amended motion passed.

B/C 06-027 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the January 10, 2006, Board of Commissioners Meeting.
- 2. To authorize the payroll of January 24, 2006, in the amount of \$459.23.
- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$1,416,354.43 as presented by the summary report for January 1, 2006, through January 13, 2006.
- 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of December 2005.

5. To appoint Mark Knudsen as an Ottawa County representative on the West Michigan Regional Planning Commission (Region 8), through December 31, 2006.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Rinck, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Disselkoen, Vander Kam, Rycenga. (9)

- B/C 06-028 Mr. Rinck moved to adopt the proposed revised "Administrative Policy Appointments to Boards and Commissions" (Second Reading). The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Vander Kam, Kuyers, Rinck, Holtrop, Berghorst, Disselkoen, Rycenga. (9)
- B/C 06-029 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution implementing the Maximus Cost of Service Analysis for the Register of Deeds Office of a document processing fee for bulk image sales. Cost per image will be based on the number of users. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Vander Kam, Kuyers, Holtrop, Berghorst, Rinck, Disselkoen, Swartout, Rycenga. (9)
- B/C 06-030 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the implementation of a Senior Volunteer Program through the Sheriff's Office in the form of a pilot project during the year 2006. Funding of \$8,500 to come from 2006 budget. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Rinck, Berghorst, Swartout, Vander Kam, Disselkoen, Holtrop, Kuyers, Rycenga. (9)
- B/C 06-031 Mr. Swartout moved to approve an increase in hours of the existing .7 FTE District Court Probation Officer to a full time 1.0 FTE. The increase in hours is to be fully funded by the Drug Treatment Court grants. The increase in hours will be sunset if the grant funding is reduced. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rinck, Disselkoen, Kuyers, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Swartout, Berghorst, Rycenga. (9)
- B/C 06-032 Mr. Rinck moved to go into a Closed Session at 1:45 p.m. for the purpose of a labor negotiations update. Two-third roll call vote required. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Swartout, Vander Kam, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Berghorst, Kuyers, Disselkoen, Rinck, Rycenga. (9)
- B/C 06-033 Mr. Holtrop moved to rise from Closed Session at 2:00 p.m. The motion passed.

B/C 06-034 Mr. Disselkoen moved to approve funding a new collective bargaining agreement between the County of Ottawa, Ottawa County Sheriff and the Command Officers Association of Michigan representing the Sergeants and Lieutenants in the Sheriff's Department. The term of the agreement to be January 1, 2006, through December 31, 2008. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Vander Kam, Holtrop, Disselkoen, Kuyers, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Rinck, Swartout, Rycenga. (9)

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners reported on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 06-035 Mr. Holtrop moved to adjourn at 2:10 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk Of the Board of Commissioners

ROGER RYCENGA, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners