APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FEBRUARY SESSION – SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, February 27, 2007, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Hehl pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Rycenga, Hehl, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Holtrop, Holtvluwer (9)

Absent: Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Berghorst (2)

B/C 07-046 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve the agenda of today. The motion passed.

B/C 07-047 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the February 15, 2007 Board of Commissioners Meeting.
- 2. To authorize the payroll of February 27, 2007 in the amount of \$468.15.
- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$5,280,821.03 as presented by the summary report for February 1, 2007 through February 16, 2007.
- 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of January 2007.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Holtrop, Holtvluwer (9)

B/C 07-048 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the implementation of a Marriage License Waiver fee of \$10.00 as provided by Senate Bill 1106 amending Public Act 128 of 1887. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Disselkoen (9)

- B/C 07-049 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the de-authorization of one (1) Violence Intervention Officer in the Prosecuting Attorney's Office and the transfer of the budgeted amount of the position to the District Court Probation for the funding of one (1) additional Probation Officer/Treatment Specialist. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Holtvluwer, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen (9)
- B/C 07-050 Mr. Swartout moved to approve the Resolution authorizing the County Road Commission to issue Act 342 Bonds in the not to exceed amount of \$39,350,000 to finance the Ottawa County Communities share of the 2007 Wyoming Ottawa County Water Supply System Project. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Swartout, Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen (9)
- B/C 07-051 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve an amendment to the Term-Limit Policy to permit the Board of Commissioners, by 2/3 majority vote, to override the 12-year term-limit provision and permit the nomination and appointment of a citizen appointee in any instance where, after re-advertising the opening, there are no alternative candidates for the position and/or where the position is one for which the unique qualifications and experience of the term-limited candidate suggest that the candidate is the sole qualified applicant for the appointment. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Hehl, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Rycenga, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen (9)
- B/C 07-052 Mr. Holtrop moved to nominate and appoint *Darwin J. Baas to fill one (1) of two (2) vacancies on the Appeals Board for Sanitary Code, to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009. (*Recommended by the Committee) The motion passed.
- B/C 07-053 Mr. Holtrop moved to nominate and appoint *David Van Ginhoven to fill one (1) vacancy on the Lakeshore Coordinating Council, to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2008. (*Recommended by the Committee) The motion passed.
- B/C 07-054 Mr. Holtrop moved to nominate and appoint *Sandra Dupuis to fill one (1) Education vacancy on the Ottawa County Workforce Development Board, to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009. (*Recommended by the Committee) The motion passed.
- B/C 07-055 Mr. Holtrop moved to nominate and appoint *Rick Diamond to fill one (1) Community-Based Organizations vacancy on the Ottawa County Workforce Development Board, to serve a three (3) year term beginning

January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009. (*Recommended by the Committee) The motion passed.

- B/C 07-056 Mr. Holtrop moved to place into nomination the names of *Randy Thelen and *Joy Gaasch and appoint two (2) to fill Economic Development vacancies on the Ottawa County Workforce Development Board, each to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009. (*Recommended by the Committee) The motion passed.
- B/C 07-057 Mr. Holtrop moved to nominate and appoint *Carl Simpson to fill one (1) Labor vacancy on the Ottawa County Workforce Development Board, to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2009. (*Recommended by the Committee) The motion passed.
- B/C 07-058 Mr. Holtrop moved to nominate and appoint *Carl Occhipinti to fill one (1) Rehabilitation vacancy on the Ottawa County Workforce Development Board, to serve an unexpired term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2007. (*Recommended by the Committee) The motion passed.
- B/C 07-059 Mr. Holtrop moved to nominate and appoint *Art Lucas to fill one (1) Supervisor/Assessor vacancy on the Ottawa County Remonumentation Committee, to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2008. (*Recommended by the Committee) The motion passed.
- B/C 07-060 Mr. Holtrop moved to nominate and appoint *Randall S. Schipper to fill one (1) Real Estate Attorney vacancy on the Ottawa County Remonumentation Committee, to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2007 and ending December 31, 2008. (*Recommended by the Committee) The motion passed.
- B/C 07-061 Mr. Holtrop moved to place into nomination the names of *Donald W. Schiele and *Randal D. Feenstra and appoint two (2) to fill Surveyor vacancies on the Ottawa County Remonumentation Committee, each to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2007 through December 31, 2008. (*Recommended by Committee) Note: Appointment of Randall D. Feenstra would exceed 12-year term-limit provisions of County policy. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Hehl, Holtrop, Rycenga, Disselkoen (9)
- B/C 07-062 Mr. Holtrop moved to place into nomination the names of *David M. Davis, *Mark Kornelis, *Elizabeth Ferry, *Matthew Van Zetten, and

*David L. Woodcock and appoint five (5) to fill vacancies on the Ottawa County Housing Commission, each term to begin January 1, 2007 and to serve as follows: David L. Woodcock to serve a one (1) year term ending December 31, 2007; Elizabeth Ferry to serve a two (2) year term ending December 31, 2008; David M. Davis to serve a three (3) year term ending December 31, 2009; Matthew Van Zetten to serve a four (4) year term ending December 31, 2010; and Mark Kornelis to serve a five (5) year term ending December 31, 2011. (*Recommended by Committee) The motion passed.

The Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners commented on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

Public Comment

- 1. Daniel C. Krueger, County Clerk, commented on the marriage license waiver fee.
- 2. Commissioner Disselkoen presented Commissioner Swartout and Commissioner Rycenga with 10 year service award pins.

B/C 07-063 Mr. Holtrop moved to adjourn at 2:06 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
Of the Board of Commissioners
Of the Board of Commissioners