## APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MARCH SESSION – SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, March 27, 2007, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Rycenga pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer. (10)

Absent: Mrs. Kortman. (1)

## Presentation of Petitions and Communications

The Clerk read a thank-you note from the family of Betty Ponstein. The Chair so noted and accepted.

## Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Brett Vander Kam, Ottawa County Citizens for Progress, addressed the Board regarding the step of repealing the current countywide ban of beer, wine, and package sales on Sunday and asked the Board that this policy be repealed.

Greg Rappleye and Doug Van Essen have looked at this issue and will prepare a memorandum that will be made available to the public. The Chair asked Mr. Vander Kam to give Greg Rappleye any information he has.

The Chair stated this issue will be discussed at the April Work Session. The Clerk's office will forward any related materials such as tally sheets, past election language, etc. to the Administrator.

Marty Dugan, Ottawa County Citizens for Progress, supports repealing the current countywide Sunday ban.

Jane Clark, President of the Holland Area Chamber of Commerce, reported the both the Grand Haven Chamber and the Holland Chamber supports repealing the current countywide Sunday ban.

Peter Beukema, Park Township, supports repealing the current countywide Sunday ban.

B/C 07- 064 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed.

B/C 07-065 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

- 1. To approve the Minutes of the March 13, 2007, Board of Commissioners Meeting and Board of Commissioners Work Session.
- 2. To authorize the payroll of March 27, 2007, in the amount of \$522.70.
- 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$4,180,387.32 as presented by the summary report for March 1, 2007, through March 16, 2007.
- 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of February 2007.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Schrotenboer, Swartout, Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Disselkoen. (10)

B/C 07-066 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairman and Clerk to sign the Resolution for the Administrative Services Department Reorganization Plan. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Holtvluwer, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (10)

B/C 07-067 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Option to Purchase for the Highley property located on Lake Michigan in Port Sheldon Township with option fee of \$100,000 and funding from the county parks millage. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Holtrop, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (9)

Nays: Mr. Swartout. (1)

B/C 07-068 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution authorizing submittal of the Olive Shores Acquisition grant proposal to the Michigan Nature Resources Trust Fund. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs.

Kuyers, Berghorst, Hehl, Holtrop, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (10)

B/C 07-069 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the naming of the new community room at Hager Park in honor of Andrew DeVries. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Schrotenboer, Swartout, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Hehl, Holtrop, Berghorst, Rycenga, Disselkoen. (10)

B/C 07-070 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and forward to the Governor of the State of Michigan the recommendation of the following changes to the Membership of the Ottawa County Local Emergency Planning Committee: the addition of Gordon Schrotenboer and William Dentmark; and the resignation of Cornelius Vander Kam and Myra Reimink. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Rycenga, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (10)

B/C 07-071 Mr. Swartout moved to approve Roger Cotner for appointment to the Ottawa County Tax Allocation Board, pursuant to MCL 211.205(e). The motion passed.

B/C 07-072 Mr. Swartout moved to place into nomination the names of Greg Vaughn\* and Mark Bailey and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) County Representative vacancy on the Ottawa County Remonumentation Committee, to serve a one (1) year term beginning January 1, 2007, and ending December 31, 2007. (\*Recommended by the Committee.)

Results of the roll call vote:

Mrs. Ruiter – Vaughn
Mr. Hehl – Vaughn
Mr. Berghorst – Vaughn
Mr. Swartout – Vaughn
Mr. Holtvluwer – Vaughn
Mr. Disselkoen – Vaughn

Total Votes: Mr. Vaughn -10, Mr. Bailey -0.

The Chair declared Greg Vaughn appointed to the Ottawa County Remonumentation Committee.

## **Discussion Items**

1. miOttawa.org Update – A power point presentation was presented by JoAnn Arcand, WebTecs, Inc.

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners commented on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 07-073 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to adjourn at 2:25 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
Of the Board of Commissioners
Of the Board of Commissioners