APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APRIL SESSION – FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, April 10, 2007, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Schrotenboer pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer. (11)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

The Clerk read a thank you note from the family of John Dyke. The Chair so noted and accepted.

Public Comments and Communications from County Staff

Tom VandenBerg, 156 Glendale Ave., Holland, addressed the Board regarding Sunday alcohol sales. Mr. VandenBerg requested the Board to keep the County's current ban.

- B/C 07-074 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-075 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
 - 1. To approve the Minutes of the March 27, 2007, Board of Commissioners Meeting.
 - 2. To authorize the payroll of April 10, 2007, in the amount of \$577.25.
 - 3. To receive as information Correspondence Log 368.
 - 4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,930,582.54 as presented by the summary report for March 19, 2007, through March 31, 2007.
 - 5. To receive for information the Ottawa County Clerk's Office 2006 Annual Report.

- 6. To receive for information the Ottawa County Drain Commissioner's 2006 Annual Report.
- 7. To receive for information the Ottawa County Sheriff's Office 2006 Annual Report.
- 8. To receive for information the Ottawa County Prosecuting Attorney's Office 2006 Annual Report.
- 9. To receive for information the Ottawa County 20th Circuit Court and Probate Court's 2006 Annual Report and Strategic Plan.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Swartout, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 07-076 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the "Lakeshore Coordinating Council Withdrawal Agreement." The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Rycenga, Hehl, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-077 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Concurrent Resolution approving the Intergovernmental Agreement for Continuation of the Lakeshore Behavioral Health Alliance. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Holtrop, Rycenga, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Swartout, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-078 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution authorizing execution of a Grant Agreement with the Michigan State Housing Authority, to provide for receipt by the Ottawa County Community Action Agency of \$149,000 for housing purposes. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-079 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve he payment of up to \$12,500 to the City of Grand Haven for the local match portion of its MSHDA Technical Assistance grant, which will be used to conduct a Countywide Housing Needs Assessment. The County will provide a dollar-for-dollar match of funds contributed by other organizations, up to 50% of the local match amount. Funding will come from Contingency. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Holtvluwer,

Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (11)

Discussion Items:

- 1. The Ottawa County Clerk's Office 2006 Annual Report was presented by Daniel C. Krueger, Ottawa County Clerk.
- 2. The Ottawa County Drain Commissioner's 2006 Annual Report was presented by Paul M. Geerlings, Ottawa County Drain Commissioner, and Linda Brown, Chief Deputy Drain Commissioner.

Gary Rosema, Sheriff, recognized Deputy Brett Ferris as the 2006 Correction Officer Deputy of the Year and Deputy Keith Gravelink as the 2006 Law Enforcement Deputy of the Year.

- 3. The Ottawa County Sheriff's Office 2006 Annual Report was presented by Gary A. Rosema, Ottawa County Sheriff.
- 4. The Ottawa County Prosecuting Attorney's Office 2006 Annual Report was presented by Ronald J. Frantz, Ottawa County Prosecutor.
- 5. The Ottawa County 20th Circuit Court and Probate Court's 2006 Annual Report was presented by Kevin J. Bowling, Circuit Court Administrator.

B/C 07-080 Mr. Berghorst moved to adjourn at 2:54 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk DONALD DISSELKOEN, Chairman Of the Board of Commissioners Of the Board of Commissioners