## APPROVED PROPOSED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY SESSION - SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, May 22, 2007, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Holtvluwer pronounced the invocation.

The Deputy Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer. (11)

## Presentation of Petitions and Communications

The Deputy Clerk read a thank-you note from the Harold Mastenbrook family. The Chair so noted and accepted.

The Administrator introduced Marie Waalkes the new Human Resources Director.

- B/C 07-107 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve the agenda as presented and amended adding Action Item 4A Concurrent Resolution to Approve the "Intergovernmental Agreement" with Muskegon County to Continue the Lakeshore Behavioral Health Alliance (Revised). The motion passed.
- B/C 07-108 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
  - 1. To approve the Minutes of the May 8, 2007, Board of Commissioners Meeting, the May 8, 2007, Board of Commissioners Work Session, and the May 10, 2007, Board of Commissioners Special Meeting.
  - 2. To authorize the payroll of May 22, 2007, in the amount of \$577.25.
  - 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$2,210,795.89 as presented by the summary report for May 1, 2007, through May 11, 2007.
  - 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of April 2007.

5. To receive for information the West Michigan Enforcement Team's (W.E.M.E.T.) 2006 Annual Report.

Cameron, Henke, W.E.M.E.T. Section Commander, presented the West Michigan Enforcement Team's 2006 Annual Report.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Holtrop, Rycenga, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Swartout, Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 07-109 Mr. Swartout moved to open the Public Hearing at 1:49 p.m. on the proposed 2007 millage rate for Ottawa County. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-110 Mr. Swartout moved to close the Public Hearing on the proposed 2007 millage rate for Ottawa County. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-111 Mr. Swartout moved to open the Public Hearing at 1:50 p.m. on the proposed 2007 rate for E-911. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-112 Mr. Swartout moved to close the Public Hearing on the proposed 2007 millage rate for E-911. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-113 Mr. Swartout moved to open the Public Hearing at 1:50 p.m. on the proposed 2007 millage rate for Ottawa County Parks. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-114 Mr. Swartout moved to close the Public Hearing on the proposed 2007 millage rate for Ottawa County Parks. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-115 Mrs. Kortman moved to approve the Ottawa County Housing Commission By-Laws. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-116 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the "Green School" Resolution. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Holtvluwer, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga,, Hehl, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-117 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution declaring July 15-21, 2007, as "Road Rage Awareness Week" within Ottawa County. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs.

Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Swartout, Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (11)

- B/C 07-118 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve the Application/Permit to Use State Land with the Michigan Department of Natural Resources for use of Holland State Park for the Mt. Pisgah Dune Protection Project. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Hehl, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-119 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to authorize the "Intergovernmental Agreement" providing for the continuation of the Lakeshore Behavioral Health Alliance (Revised). The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Hehl, Holtrop, Berghorst, Rycenga, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-120 Mr. Swartout moved to approve \$1,100,196 of the 2006 General Fund fund balance to be designated for Buildings and Improvements and \$397,323 be transferred to the Stabilization Fund and \$412,000 be reserved for the Remonumention Program. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Rycenga, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-121 Mr. Swartout moved to approve an increase of a Marketing Specialist position from part-time (.5 FTE) to full-time (1.0 FTE) and recommend that this position be placed within the Group T Benefits Manual at pay grade 15 with funding to be received through grants with a sunset date to coordinate with the expiration of the grant funding. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Hehl, Berghorst, Swartout, Holtvluwer, Rycenga, Holtrop, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-122 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution approving the 2007 Millage Rate for Ottawa County of 3.6 mills. The motion passed as shown by the following votes; Yeas: Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Swartout, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (11)
- B/C 07-123 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution approving the 2007 Millage Rate for E-911 of .4407 mills. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas:

Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Rycenga, Hehl, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (11)

B/C 07-124 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to approve the 2007 Millage Rate for Parks of .3165 mills. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Holtrop, Rycenga, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Swartout, Disselkoen. (11)

## **Discussion Items**

National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration (N.O.A.A.) – Michigan State University- Ms. Sonia Joseph, Michigan Sea Grant Outreach Coordinator, explained the upcoming Grand River Water Quality Experiments that will take place this summer in Grand Haven.

The County Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners reported on meetings attended and future meetings to be held. There was much discussion regarding the State of Michigan budget and how it could affect Ottawa County.

B/C 07-125 Mr. Holtrop moved to adjourn at 2:34 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk
Of the Board of Commissioners
Of the Board of Commissioners