APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD COMMISSIONERS JUNE SESSION – SECOND DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, June 26, 2007, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Kuyers pronounced the invocation

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Kuyers, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer. (10)

Absent: Mr. Swartout. (1)

Presentation of Petitions and Communications

The Administrator introduced Matthew Walker, City of Coopersville, and Samantha Vanderberg, Tallmadge Township, who have been selected to represent the State during the Girls' and Boys' Nation Programs in Washington D.C. The Clerk read their Resolutions and the Chairman presented the Resolutions to Matthew and Samanatha.

- B/C 07-129 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve the Resolutions of Congratulations to Samanatha Vanderberg and Matthew Walker. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-130 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the agenda of today as presented. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-131 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:
 - 1. To approve the Minutes of the June 12, 2007, Board of Commissioners Meeting.
 - 2. To authorize the payroll of June 26, 2007, in the amount of \$877.25.
 - 3. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$3,545,744.30 as presented by the summary report for June 1, 2007, through June 15, 2007.
 - 4. To approve the appropriation changes greater than \$50,000 and those approved by the Administrator and Fiscal Services Director for \$50,000 or less which changed the total appropriation from the amended budget for the month of May 2007.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Holtrop, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (10)

 B/C 07-132 Mr. Holtrop moved to approve the presentation of a Resolution of Congratulations to the Unity Christian High School Varsity Girls Soccer Team for winning Division 3 of the Michigan High School Athletic Association State Championship. The motion passed.

Mr. Holtrop presented the Resolution to Unity Christian High School Varsity Girls Soccer Coach Randy Heethuis.

- B/C 07-133 Mrs. Ruiter moved to approve the County of Ottawa Equal Employment Opportunity Plan for 2007. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Hehl, Disselkoen. (10)
- B/C 07-134 Mr. Rycenga moved o approve the proposal to add a .75 FTE Registered Nurse position for Community Mental Health, to replace a previously contracted position, at an approximate total program cost of \$51,246. Funding to come from the Mental Health budget. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Hehl, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Rycenga, Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (10)
- B/C 07-135 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to establish the contracting signature authority etc., of the Chairperson of the Ottawa County Board of Commissioners, the Ottawa County Clerk, and the Parks & Recreation Director. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Kuyers, Hehl, Holtrop, Berghorst, Rycenga, Disselkoen. (10)
- B/C 07-136 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to adopt Ordinance 07-01 to revise the Ordinance establishing County Park Rules and Regulations (Ordinance 94-3) by adding provisions to prohibit use of smoking and tobacco products on County Park beaches within Ottawa County. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (10)
- B/C 07-137 Mr. Rycenga moved o approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution declaring the week beginning June 29, 2007,

as National Clean Beaches Week within Ottawa County. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Hehl, Berghorst, Holtvluwer, Rycenga, Holtrop, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (10)

- B/C 07-138 Mr. Rycenga moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution to oppose adoption of HB 4780-88, the "Township Services Consolidation Act(s)." The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga, Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (10)
- B/C 07-139 Mrs. Ruiter moved to nominate *Robert Piper and Marybeth Garcia for appointment to the Community Corrections Advisory Board and appoint one (1) to fill one (1) General Public position to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2007, through December 31, 2008. (*Recommended by Committee.)

Results of the roll call vote:

Mr. Holtvluwer – Piper Mrs. Kortman – Piper Mr. Holtrop – Piper Mr. Berghorst – Piper Mr. Kuyers – Piper Mr. Schrotenboer - Piper Mr. Rycenga - Piper Mr. Hehl - Piper Mrs. Ruiter - Piper Mr. Disselkoen – Piper

Total votes received: Mr. Piper -10, Ms. Garcia -0.

The Chair declared Mr. Piper appointed to the Community Corrections Advisory Board.

 B/C 07-140 Mrs. Ruiter moved to nominate and appoint *Joseph Legatz to the Community Corrections Advisory Board to fill one (1) Defense Attorney position to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2007, through December 31, 2008. The motion passed.

The RDA Group presented the 2007 Employee Survey Results. There was a 50% response rate from the employees.

B/C 07-141 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to adjourn at 2:29 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

| DANIEL C. KRUEGER, Clerk | DONALD DISSELKOEN, Chairman |
|-------------------------------|-------------------------------|
| Of the Board of Commissioners | Of the Board of Commissioners |