APPROVED PROCEEDINGS OF THE OTTAWA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS DECEMBER SESSION – FIRST DAY

The Ottawa County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, December 11, 2007, at 1:30 p.m. and was called to order by the Chair.

Mr. Swartout pronounced the invocation.

The Clerk led in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Present at roll call: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Schrotenboer, Disselkoen, Berghorst, Holtrop, Holtvluwer (9)

Absent: Messrs. Hehl, Rycenga (2)

<u>Public Comment and Communications from County Staff</u> Brad Slagh, County Treasurer, introduced his new Chief Deputy, Jeanne Marek.

- B/C 07-294 Mr. Holtvluwer moved to approve the agenda of today with the addition of Action Item 1a. and C. Appointments 1, 2, & 3. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-295 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the following Consent Resolutions:

1. To approve the Minutes of the November 27, 2007 Board of Commissioners Meeting.

2. To authorize the payroll of December 11, 2007 in the amount of \$474.94.

3. To receive as information Correspondence Log 376.

4. To approve the general claims in the amount of \$1,905,741.37 as presented by the summary report for November 19, 2007 through November 30, 2007.

The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Berghorst, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen (9)

B/C 07-296 Mr. Swartout moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the "License Agreement" with the City of Grand Haven to permit use of the street right-of-way surrounding the Ottawa County Courthouse Facility for subsurface building footings subject to final negotiations in Section 2 with Corporation Counsel. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mrs. Ruiter, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Swartout, Holtvluwer, Holtrop, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (9)

- B/C 07-297 Mr. Schrotenboer moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution supporting passage of HB 410 and 411 (funding of emergency 911 dispatch services). The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Schrotenboer, Kuyers, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Swartout, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (9)
- B/C 07-298 Mr. Berghorst moved to approve the Notice of Extension of Option to Purchase for the Seidman Family Foundation property in Port Sheldon Township with funding for the \$200,000 option extension fee from the Parks and Recreation budget. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtrop, Berghorst, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Disselkoen. (9)
- B/C 07-299 Mrs. Kortman moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the one (1) year contract agreement with Child Development Services of Ottawa County, Inc. (CDSOC) to provide Early Head Start services, effective January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2008. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Holtvluwer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Holtrop, Kuyers, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Berghorst, Swartout, Disselkoen. (9)
- B/C 07-300 Mrs. Kortman moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Resolution authorizing an application by the Ottawa County Community Action Agency for \$300,000 in funding from the Michigan State Housing Authority Resource Fund (HOME Fund). The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Mr. Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Swartout, Holtvluwer, Kuyers, Holtrop, Disselkoen. (9)
- B/C 07-301 Mrs. Ruiter moved to place into nomination the names of Michelle Bucek, Maureen VanHoven, Joyce Barkel, and Richard A. Kanten* to fill one (1) unexpired Family Member vacancy on the Ottawa County Mental Health Board, to begin immediately and ending March 31, 2009. (*Recommended by Committee.)

The results of the roll call vote are as follows:

Mr. Kuyers – Kanten Mr. Holtrop – Kanten Mrs. Kortman – Kanten Mrs. Ruiter – Kanten Mr. Berghorst – Kanten Mr. Swartout – Bucek Mr. Schrotenboer – Kanten Mr. Holtvluwer – Kanten Mr. Disselkoen – Kanten

Total votes were as follows: Michelle Bucek- 1; Richard A. Kanten - 8

The Chair declared Mr. Kanten appointed to the Family Member vacancy on the Ottawa County Mental Health Board.

B/C 07-302 Mrs. Ruiter moved to place into nomination the names of Gary A. Barton* and Susanna Shepard-Karbowski to fill one (1) Business Community vacancy on the Ottawa County Community Corrections Advisory Board, to serve a two (2) year term beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2009. (*Recommended by Committee.)

The results of the roll call vote are as follows:

Mr. Holtrop – Barton Mrs. Kortman – Barton Mrs. Ruiter – Barton Mr. Berghorst – Barton Mr. Swartout – Barton Mr. Schrotenboer – Barton Mr. Kuyers – Barton Mr. Holtvluwer – Barton Mr. Disselkoen – Barton

Total votes were as follows: Gary A. Barton - 9

The Chair declared Mr. Barton appointed to the Business Community vacancy on the Ottawa County Community Corrections Advisory Board.

- B/C 07-303 Mrs. Ruiter moved to place into nomination and appoint James Szejda* to fill one (1) of two (2) vacancies on the Ottawa County Appeals Board of Sanitary Code, to serve a three (3) year term beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2010. (*Recommended by Committee.) The motion passed.
- B/C 07-304 Mr. Berghorst move to go into Closed Session for the purpose of discussing property acquisitions at 1:50 p.m. Two thirds (2/3) roll-call vote required. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas:

Messrs. Holtrop, Holtvluwer, Swartout, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Mrs. Ruiter, Mr. Disselkoen. (9)

- B/C 07-305 Mr. Kuyers moved to rise from closed session at 1:56 p.m. The motion passed.
- B/C 07-306 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve the Agreement for Sale and Purchase of Real Estate for the 7.24 acre Road Commission property on Adams Street in Zeeland Township to expand the Upper Macatawa Natural Area with funding in the amount of \$65,000 plus closing costs to come from the county parks millage and to authorize the Parks and Recreation Director to sign the documents required for this transaction. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Berghorst, Kuyers, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Swartout, Disselkoen. (9)
- B/C 07-307 Mr. Kuyers moved to approve and authorize the Board Chairperson and Clerk to sign the Right of First Refusal Agreement for the 7.24 acre Road Commission property on Adams Street in Zeeland Township. The motion passed as shown by the following votes: Yeas: Messrs. Kuyers, Berghorst, Holtrop, Mrs. Kortman, Mr. Swartout, Mrs. Ruiter, Messrs. Holtvluwer, Schrotenboer, Disselkoen. (9)

The Administrator's report was presented.

Several Commissioners commented on meetings attended and future meetings to be held.

B/C 07-308 Mr. Kuyers moved to adjourn at 2:00 p.m. subject to the call of the Chair. The motion passed.

DANIEL C. KRUEGER, ClerkDONALD DISSELKOEN, ChairOf the Board of CommissionersOf the Board of Commissioners